Spicy Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I've tried a number of shrimp creole recipes from several Cajun/Creole cookbooks over the years and this recipe is as good as any of them. So good, in fact, that four of us pretty much wiped out the entire pot! Serve with Absolute Mexican Cornbread (also on this site) and you'll have a meal to impress just about any dinner guest(s)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Tres bien! Made this for my visiting college-age sons and everyone loved it! I applied the hot sauce and cayenne pepper liberally because we like it hot! I only regret that I could not talk anyone into running to the store to get celery, so we had to forego that. However, I added lots of green pepper (2 large, from our garden), and it was delicious. I also used a lot of fresh tomatoes from our garden instead of canned. I like the andouille idea and look forward to making this recipe again. Served with sazon-flavored rice, and cheese and chive biscuits. Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
thanks Pamela for sharing this recipe!! this is my first recipe for creole type. scaled it to 4 servings but added garlic 5 cloves instead of.Instead of canned tomatoes , i added 1/2 large fresh cut tomatoes, added 1 tsp of flour ,1 chopped green bell pepper, for hotness i added 1 tbs of indian red pepper , 1 jalapeno pepper (we prefer bit hot and spicy)and 1/2 cup of water for the gravy and lastly added 2-4 tbs of fresh cut cilantro .We served it over plain cooked rice.its a wonderful recipe !!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
For those that love spice...this is truly good. I'm not a fan of hot food...but everyone else is in this house and they loved it. The flavor was great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Highly recomend using the creole seasoning blend from this site. Add 5 tsps to this recipe to make it a real creole in lieu of the spices listed. Also was better the second time around when I substituted diced tomatoes in lieu of crushed and added in some additional seafood - salmon was nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Delicious and not TOO spicy. I scaled the recipe in half but still used the full bay leaf. I realized too late that my onions were rotten, so I had to use dehydrated onions instead (just eyeballed the amount), and it worked out. I omited the extra salt and served this over brown rice. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
loved this!! was flavorful and everyone i served it to loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This was too hot for me! I cannot eat many spicy foods due to health reasons, but I made this for my husband and his grown son (who love anything spicy) and they ate it all! They absolutely loved it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Delicious!!!!!! Of course I add more garlic, (we are garlic lovers,) and a bit more cayenne pepper. I also used diced tomatoes, I like the bigger chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I have been using recipes from this site for years and this recipe is one of my absolute favs and the fav of anyone I make it for. I did add a green pepper, creole seasoning,sub one can of crushed tomatoes for Rotel tomatoes, and added worch. sauce. WONDERFUL! Make this recipe. Served with Grandma's Buttermilk Cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States