Spicy Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is an excellent recipe, especially if you love really spicy food. My boyfriend and I like moderately spicy food, so I used 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper instead of 1/2 tsp. I also greatly reduced the amount of tabasco sauce, using only a few drops. Even so, the sauce was still so spicy that it caused my boyfriend's eyes to water while he was eating it! Next time, I think I will completely omit the cayenne or add just a very small pinch as it is spicy enough on its own. Next time I will also add green peppers and maybe mushrooms to thicken the sauce. With the exception of the ultra spiceyness, this recipe is amazing! Also, instead of rice, I served it over linguine which made for an elegant combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe is restaurant quality in my opinion. I make it at least once a week. Prep time is fast and the leftovers heat up well. You can vary the heat depending on your preference. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delish!!! The only thing I did different was I left out the celery b/c my boyfriend doesn't like it. Oh... and I also made everything the night before... then before we were ready to eat I heated the sauce up and then added the shrimp. It had just enough snap & zing. Served with Brown Rice & Corn Bread.. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Made a recent dinner party a success. Thank you! I added more cayenne pepper, I'm just crazy like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
didn't care for this at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I rarely follow a recipe exactly, but this one would be great even if you did ! I added green pepper strips, not as much celery and only 1-8oz. can of tomatoe sauce I also used canned chopped tomatoes and blended them a bit before adding. this recipe has a great taste and smells divine when cooking !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I thought this was a great and easy recipe! I didn't alter anything other than add some sausage at my husband's request! try it, you won't be disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I loved this recipe and it was healthy too. I substituted a can of Rotel tomato's for one of the cans of crushed and used less cayane too. I served it over jasmine rice. I will be making this again soon. Great for lunch the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRAPJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This was wonderful! My husband is picky and he loved it!!! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States