Spicy Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Simple to make, more than enough to feed the crowd, lots of spice, not so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This recipe is fabulous! I made it with crushed tomatoes with green chiles, which gave it an extra kick. Also, I served on brown rice. Completely excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose G
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Spicy certainly describes this dish...I loved it but hubby wimped out on me. I wanted to make a take off of the New Orleans classic...Creole Shrimp and Grits so I served this over the Lemony Quinoa (on this site) and I felt it was absolutely fabulous. Made the Shrimp Creole following recipe exactly but next time I'll cut back on the cayenne pepper and hot sauce and add to my serving at the table. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Easy to make and delicious. Respect the cayene portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I was craving a spicy shrimp dish and this really hit the spot. I did get a little crazy with the recipe and once it was served over rice it was more like gumbo. I added a diced bell pepper, more garlic, sliced andouille sausage (reduced shrimp to 1 lb), and a can of black eyed peas I had on hand. I also added a splash of sherry vinegar which really helped brighten the tomato flavor. With a glass of pinot gris and a few hefty slabs of cornbread, this was one delicious meal. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
A little too spicy for me, next time Iwould cut down on the cayenne pepper and hot sauce. I am from Louisiana and I enjoy spicy, but I was looking for a recipe that would compliment the shrimp. In this recipe, I felt, the shrimp was overpowered by the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
The only things I had to change about this recipe, was that since I didn't have any celery on hand, I put in a can of sliced water chestnuts. The crunch was perfect. Also, I added just a bit of Frank's Hot Sauce and a bit more cayenne pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was the 1st time I cooked this and it wont be the last. I cooked this recipe for 75 people and everyone enjoyed it. I'm a personal cater and I had people asking me for the recipe. Followed this step by step. If you want a little more heat add some more cayanne. The recipie will make more that stated so be careful. I just love "All Recipes" makes me feel like I'm on "Top Chef"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POTS AND PANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
For starters, I halved the recipe. I added a green pepper, as well as 3 cloves of garlic instead of 2. I used red pepper instead of cayenne pepper because that was what I had on hand. I did not have hot sauce on hand, so I omitted that ingredient. I also used frozen shrimp instead of fresh. I put the meal in a dish and stuck it in the fridge overnight so the flavors could blend together. I reheated the creole the next night for dinner. I was so happy I omitted the hot sauce because it was almost too spicy for my taste! Next time, I will only put in 1/8 tsp red pepper. I served the creole with a Dole Light Caesar Salad Kit and french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States