Spicy Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This recipe has the flavour and consistency we've been looking for. Substituted peppers and mushrooms for the 2nd cup of celery and added some back bacon instead of the 2nd pound of shrimp. Poured over hot buttered rice or with sourdough bread on the side. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Excellent...but I doctored a little...added 1/4 cup wine, a slpash of worshester, juice of a lime, can of Rotel, green and red pepper, less celery, cooked the sauce for an hour.....my sister says it was better than her real Cajun recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I made this recipe today for the first time. It was quick, simple, easy, and tasty. It is pretty darned hot though; if you or your loved ones aren't into sinus opening hot-tone down the hot sauce a little (1/2 T. maybe) and it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Awesome! Also addad a splash of worcestershire sauce. Served with homemade french bread. I plan to make this a regular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This recipe was a keeper. It has good basic ingredients and leaves plenty of leeway to get creative. I cut the recipe in half and added Worcestershire sauce, basil, thyme and Cajun seasoning. The only fault I found was the 15 minute simmering time for the shrimp. I thought they were a bit overcooked. 10 minutes seems a better choice for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I had been searching for a simple, delicious peel-and-eat spicy shrimp recipe ... and this one fits the bill! I cannot stress how easy it was to prepare. To make it easier, I made the first 8 ingredient measurements equal at 1 teaspoon. All my friends have requested this recipe several times since I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
WOW! I absolutely LOVED this recipe. My husband does not like things as spicy as I do, so I didn't use all the cayenne - but it was still spicy. I'm thinking I might try this with chicken next time. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrermartinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Soooooo good and flavorful. I found canned Mexican stewed tomatoes at the grocery store, so I used a 16 oz can of those, crushing them up with my hand before putting in the pot, plus a little crushed tomatoes. I am allergic to shrimp, but risked breaking out in hives for the taste. Oh, I also took my allergy medication just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Fabulous recipe...especially if you love tomatoes like I do. I did substitute one can diced tomatoes for one can of the crushed tomatoes and threw in a few bell peppers. I may use a little less tabasco or cayenne next time. Delicious with steamed basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I will not make this again. It turned out really bland and much too tomato-y. Could have been the canned tomatoes- I didn't have Rotel and just used plain and added extra seasonings. My advice is to use Rotel tomatoes, maybe those make the difference-- or keep looking, there may be a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States