Spicy Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
this recipe has been such a joy! i have a lot to say... 1. it is not that spicy even tho it's called "spicy shredded beef" so if you want spicy add hot sauce 2. definately don't over use the cumin...the called for amount is plenty. 3. i added 1/3 cup of sugar when i added the tomato sauce. this gave a hint of sweetness to the meat that was just divine 4. do be sure to add water as it cooks so it never gets dry. 5. cook for at least 2 hours...the longer the better and make sure you have a very tight fitting lid to keep moisture in i use this beef for so many things but a favorite in our home is the mexican dish machaca con huevo first i heat up a few tbsp of veg. oil then add sliced onion. cook this for a few minutes then add the shredded beef. simmer for 10 minutes. then add scrambled egg (the ratio of egg to beef is up to you but usually 1 egg per serving of beef is good) cook the scrambled egg with the beef for at least 10 minutes until the egg is fully cooked. serve with warm corn tortillas. this is to die for delicious! i highly recommend this recipe for so many things (tacos/enchiladas/machaca/burritos) it's just divine and so so simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I loved this shredded beef! I could tell it wasn't going to be that spicy, so I added powdered cayenne pepper and chili powder along with the cumin. I used 4 garlic cloves instead of one, and I used diced tomatoes with green chiles. I only needed an hour and a half for the meat to become so tender that I almost didn't even need to shred it with forks. I served this on corn tortillas with all of the taco fixings. I love that this recipe only used a pound of meat, rather than the 3 or 4 pound roasts others use (with only two people eating, it makes it hard to finish what one of those recipes yields). This is so much better than ground beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
I had trouble shredding the beef after it was cooked, however I think I used the wrong cut of beef. Overall this recipe made a delicious filling for my beef enchiladas -- a huge improvement over the usual ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Super!!!! This will be one of my favorites from now on. I add one chopped onion and one can of green chilles to this recipe. I don't have to add more liquid but I have to stir it often to prevent sticking. The beef was so tender! My husband loves it! We made burritos but I will make it again for other stuff. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Excellent! I doubled the cumin and used diced tomatoes with green chilies. I browned the meat, added the spices, then dumped everything in my slow cooker. Cooked on low for 4 hours and the meat was cooked perfectly. I took the cover off for a little while after that and let the liquid evaporate. Loved it, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Man, this is fabulous !! I can't list the number of different things you can do with this. We loved it so much after trying it the first time, that the next time I did 5 pounds of beef, shredded it and froze it. Every time I wanted to make tacos, chimis, sloppy joes...anything...I'd just grab a bag out of the freezer. It's really versatile and my family (5 teenagers) loves it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
My husband loved it! I did everything the original recipe directed. I served it with Baja Tortilla wraps, shredded lettuce, sour cream, guacamole and Kraft shredded mexican cheese. Reminded me of those really good tacos we had during our vacation in Mexico! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
I quadrupled this recipe and cut up a roast, cooking it in an electric skillet. I also used some salsa verde in it. My sisters and their families came over and we made soft tacos with the meat, adding our favorite ingredients. Most of it was eaten, leaving me with just enough for lunch the next day out of the 4 lbs that I cooked! I've been looking for a recipe like this, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
This recipe is state of the art! there is room to work with the taste and I agree with the amount of cummin used to spice the beef. I did make three changes 1. used 6 oz. of Pacifico imported beer,2. Caned mexican style tomatoes And 3. choose to grill this in the back yard (because its so hot). Bottom line,I would give this a thumbs up for any gathering. Happy Cooking America!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Awesome recipe! First time I made it, it was kinda bland. So, i waited till the 2nd time I made it and doctored it up a bit. I added 1/4 cup korean chili flakes, 2 beef bouillion, 3 serrano peppers,1 roasted poblano pepper ( we like it spicy) and 7 finely grated fresh garlic,6 cups of water gradually added to the cooking process to ensure it didnt get dry. Took 2 1/2 hrs and I served it over white rice... We loved it and definetly will make again. Also, it made the house smell so dang good lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States