Spicy Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Good stuff...I also added Rotel, we all like spice. I cooked it the full 2 hours, on low. I had NO problems with drying out, and never added liquid. Could be the seal on my pan and lid, or could be that the lid is glass, so I didn't have to keep opening to check. Anyway, will be a staple. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Have probably made this 15 or 20 times now. It is my standard base for a variety of Tex-Mex dishes, from burritos to nacho's to salads. I like things fairly spicy though, so I do modify the bsaic recipe a bit. I use a small can of Rotel & a small can of salsa. Often I will throw in 2-4 chopped chipolte peppers. It even works good with a little beer splashed in. All in all a good base for experimentation. As long as you don;t let it totaly dry out, its hard to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Spicey rotel tomatoes make this one hot and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBLUE1963

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
very good and tender, but not quite 5 stars. I added some chrushed red peppers to the mix. It was not as spicy as I like, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
This recipe is state of the art! there is room to work with the taste and I agree with the amount of cummin used to spice the beef. I did make three changes 1. used 6 oz. of Pacifico imported beer,2. Caned mexican style tomatoes And 3. choose to grill this in the back yard (because its so hot). Bottom line,I would give this a thumbs up for any gathering. Happy Cooking America!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
this recipe has been such a joy! i have a lot to say... 1. it is not that spicy even tho it's called "spicy shredded beef" so if you want spicy add hot sauce 2. definately don't over use the cumin...the called for amount is plenty. 3. i added 1/3 cup of sugar when i added the tomato sauce. this gave a hint of sweetness to the meat that was just divine 4. do be sure to add water as it cooks so it never gets dry. 5. cook for at least 2 hours...the longer the better and make sure you have a very tight fitting lid to keep moisture in i use this beef for so many things but a favorite in our home is the mexican dish machaca con huevo first i heat up a few tbsp of veg. oil then add sliced onion. cook this for a few minutes then add the shredded beef. simmer for 10 minutes. then add scrambled egg (the ratio of egg to beef is up to you but usually 1 egg per serving of beef is good) cook the scrambled egg with the beef for at least 10 minutes until the egg is fully cooked. serve with warm corn tortillas. this is to die for delicious! i highly recommend this recipe for so many things (tacos/enchiladas/machaca/burritos) it's just divine and so so simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I ended up cooking the meat for 5 hours total and because of it did not come out tender at all. I'll try again with a better cut of meet. This recipe has good potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This was not very tasty to me at all. I added green chiles to spice it up but it still didn't have enough flavor. I will keep looking for a good spicy beef recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Super!!!! This will be one of my favorites from now on. I add one chopped onion and one can of green chilles to this recipe. I don't have to add more liquid but I have to stir it often to prevent sticking. The beef was so tender! My husband loves it! We made burritos but I will make it again for other stuff. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This was very good, but I did find it a tad bland...it just was missing something, haven't yet figured what that might be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States