Spicy Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
An outstanding recipe and so easy to prepare! The only downside, if downside there be, is that it took three hours of simmering to reach the desired state of doneness to make for easy shredding. But that is a small price to pay for this excellent dish. I used double the diced tomatoes specified and saved the superb excess gravy at the end for serving with the beef over rice or couscous. Doing this also solves the problem of possibly running out of liquid during cooking; no need to lift the lid and periodically check. As others suggested, I added sugar (actually it was Xylitol, 2 Tbs) to cut down on the acidity and also a small tin of chilies. Also added 1 Tbs of Worcestershire sauce and a bay leaf. After shredding the beef and putting it back in the skillet, I added 1 Tbs of taco seasoning mix - Bill Echols's wonderful recipe on this site - to kick up the spiciness a notch. This recipe is very much a keeper. Thank you kindly Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I made this in a crock pot with garden tomatoes and one salsa pepper with the seeds. My husband loved it and didn't want me to cook down the juice because he wanted to eat it like soup! That's a real compliment since he doesn't usually like new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Very good and easy to prepare. As others have pointed out, a garlic clove and a little cumin don't make this recipe "spicy". I added some hot sauce to the mix and that helped. Served this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is an excellent recipe for a base shred beef. You should notice there is not one ingredient to make it spicy. I suggest adding any spicy ingredient to your liking and this recipe will work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
You can make this work free by taking a beef chuck roast and pouring a pint of salsa (I use spicy) over the meat and cooking on low for 4-6 hrs. Shred in juices and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I used canned tomatoes with green chiles, 1 tsp chopped garlic, 1 chopped onion, 1 cup beef broth and put it in the crockpot. It was so easy to shred it while still in the pot just using one fork. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Everyone liked it...it's a miracle! Takes longer to cook than stated. Cut meat smaller next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Tasty and a quick meal! I had some leftover roast beef already shredded, so it was a quick meal. We made burritos and shredded aged cheddar to wrap with it. Very fresh and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Soooo awesome!.. I think a better name would be "seasoned shredded beef" since I wouldn't call it spicy! It was perfect in my soft tacos; served with rice, beans, guacamole, cheese... :) My only change was to add a tablespoon of sugar as another reviewer suggested when adding the tomatoes and an extra clove of garlic. The meat was so tender I just used one fork and it broke apart but wasn't at all stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Yummy! I added a can of corn, a little sugar, and some grated onion (that's how I hide it from the kiddos). It made excellent burritos that I made for company with very picky kids and they ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States