Spicy Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I feel like this recipe was lacking flavor so I added a packet of taco seasoning and some red peppers. Which made it alot better. The meat was very tender as I did it in the crockpot. Also alot healthier than ground beef but the old man didnt care for this. Luckly I had alot of topping to enhance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This has got to be my favoritest recipe ever. It was delicious. I followed it almost exactly except that I added Jalapeno peppers and Serrano peppers right at the end after I shredded the beef. I serve it with white rice. There are never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Yum! Made excellent soft tacos!! servrd it with "cheesey green chili rice" and "refried beans, without the refry"- also from this site. Only change- left 2 1/2# roast whole and put in crockpot- evev with additional meat I only used still 1 can of tomatoes- (rotel)- plenty of cumin- all I put on my soft taco was cheese and sour cream- would make excellent burritos- crockpot is the way to go for me- no attendance-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a little wetter than we liked, so I would drain the tomatoes. I also added a burrito flavor packet and some hot sauce for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yummy! I had 2 lb of beef, so I doubled everything. At 2 hours, there was way too much liquid, so I removed the lid and simmered for another hour. While hot, it was still too juicy for tacos, but as it cooled, it turned into the perfect taco. However, it was almost gone by then because my guests and I had been picking at it all afternoon. The only change I made was the addition of green chilis. If you like cumin, don't be shy. The cumin smell is overpowering initially, but is delightful in the end. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe! Easy and delicious. I used a can of stewed tomatoes and cooked it 1 1/2 hours. Next time I'll try adding fresh garlic and chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is a GREAT start-up for any mexician dish; you can also use chicken instead. I also add other mexician spices; chilli powder, garlic, and then make chimmi's out of it. You can also cook up in a crock pot. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Photo by momlovestocook
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Sooooo good! I didn't think it was going to turn out spicy as written so I used two 10 oz cans of Rotel with chilies and 2 more cloves of garlic. No water was needed. I used lean stew meat to cut down on prep and it fell apart in the pan and didn't need shredding. Fantastic for shredded beef tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was very good. I wanted tacos, but didn't feel like the ground beef, so decided to try using another cut of beef. I tried this recipe and it tasted great. I did make some modifications. I added 3 cloves of garlic, sauted white onions, a pack of taco seasoning, cayenne pepper, a couple of diced adobe peppers. I topped the tacos with sour cream, refried beans, green onions, shredded cheese, and salsa verde. These were awesome and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Excellent! I doubled the cumin and used diced tomatoes with green chilies. I browned the meat, added the spices, then dumped everything in my slow cooker. Cooked on low for 4 hours and the meat was cooked perfectly. I took the cover off for a little while after that and let the liquid evaporate. Loved it, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States