Spicy Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
WOW this is delicious! Instead of regular diced tomatoes I used 2 10oz cans of my two favorite ROTEL diced tomatoes flavors. Was great fresh, and maybe even better after being in the fridge overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Very good basic recipe! As mentioned by others, it is not exactly spicy. In addition to the tomato, I added a 1/2 C of salsa & half of a red bell pepper & half of a green bell pepper. Very yummy in burritos! I will make extra to freeze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Love this recipe! I will never use ground beef again for Mexican food. Instead of the salt and cumin, I used half a packet of taco seasoning. I also used two 10 oz. cans of Rotel. Let it simmer for about 2 1/2 - 3 hours. Absolutely delicious! So so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I liked this recipe but I did add some other spices to it since it didn't sound like it would be very spicy 'as is'. I added 1/2 teas. crushed red pepper flakes and later sprinkled cayenne pepper for a bit more bite. I also sprinkled a little bit of sugar on it to counter the tang of the tomatoes, per another reviewer's suggestion. LOVED it! I bought tortillas for it but next time will use taco shells or chips. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Shreding the beef is excellent idea! I use fress tomatoes from the garden (peeled them and cubed them) also added one small onion... The only thing I did wrong was to add to much sugar because I tried to cut down the accidity from the tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novi Sad, Vojvodina, Serbia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
It is always hard to get my kids (3, 6) to try to foods but once they ate the first bite there wasn't a fight to eat the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okoboji, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This shredded beef is really very good. Made it first exactly as written, wasnt very spicy so second batch I added a few things. I used a 4 lb chuck roast, added all the ingrediants in the original recipe then added, a medium chopped onion, 1/2 tablespoon cayenne pepper, 1/2 tablespoon chili powder, two-10 ounce cans diced tomatoes with green chilis, 2 cloves of crushed garlic, few dashes of salt and pepper, a few dashes tobasco sauce and then 1/4 cup water. I put the whole thing in my crock pot and let it cook on low for 9 hours. Shredded the beef and served it on warmed flour tortilla shells with sour cream, shredded lettuce, cheese and black olives. It was a great dinner. Like I said as written it was very good but just needed a little more spice in my opinion, if you are not a fan of a lot of spice make this as written, if you like to kick up the spice try adding what I did. Thank You for sharing !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I doubled this recipe and cooked in the crockpot - about 6 hours on high. EASY and VERY good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this for the first time this evening. But rather than babysitting it on the stove for two hours, I opted to attempt it in the crock pot. I am so glad I did, because it saved me a lot of time and trouble! First off, I didn't have to cut it into 1-inch pieces. I just browned the whole roast in a little olive oil and popped the whole thing into the crock pot. I then covered it with the canned tomatoes and spices, threw in a tiny bit of red wine and some beef broth for a little extra liquid, and cooked it on low for 10 hours. When we were ready to eat, the roast was practically falling apart and shred very easily. My first taste after shredding it was really quite bland and dry, so I spooned quite a bit of the liquid back over it and stirred it as the beef sucked it right up. I then tasted again, and wow, what a difference! Moist and flavorful! Next time I make this, I will likely do the same thing with the crock pot for cooking it, but not omit simmering on the stove in the liquid after shredding it. I have a feeling that step makes all the difference in the flavor for this dish. I served it with homemade whole wheat tortillas and all your usual taco fixings. If you are looking for a little extra heat or more flavor, try adding a little oregano, cilantro, chili powder or cayenne pepper, and/or a little more cumin (I wound up needing a full teaspoon). Really, this is one of those recipes that leaves a lot of room for customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
An outstanding recipe and so easy to prepare! The only downside, if downside there be, is that it took three hours of simmering to reach the desired state of doneness to make for easy shredding. But that is a small price to pay for this excellent dish. I used double the diced tomatoes specified and saved the superb excess gravy at the end for serving with the beef over rice or couscous. Doing this also solves the problem of possibly running out of liquid during cooking; no need to lift the lid and periodically check. As others suggested, I added sugar (actually it was Xylitol, 2 Tbs) to cut down on the acidity and also a small tin of chilies. Also added 1 Tbs of Worcestershire sauce and a bay leaf. After shredding the beef and putting it back in the skillet, I added 1 Tbs of taco seasoning mix - Bill Echols's wonderful recipe on this site - to kick up the spiciness a notch. This recipe is very much a keeper. Thank you kindly Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States