Spicy Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Loved this easy recipe, we used it in burritos with the "refried beans without the refry recipe " on this site. I added jalapeño peppers as we like our food "muy piquante" but that's our personal taste, not a criticism of the recipe! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I just don't think this recipe has the gusto to be called spicy. First, I had difficulty shredding it, if you want to shred meat, use a rump roast cooked about 8 hrs in a crock pot. The ratio of tomato vs. meat was too high, I ended up removing all the tomatoes and adding chili powder, onion salt, more cumin, smoked paprika and cayenne pepper after taste- test and realizing the recipe was not going to be spicy at all. Dinner was delayed until I was done" rescuing" it, much to the chagrin of my family. Next time, I think I will use a rump roast and spicy rotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Mitchell, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I found this was a good foundation to some Tex Mex type tacos. I added an entire onion, sliced and sauteed that. I doubled the garlic. And I added a chipotle pepper to bring it more to the spicy. It was great served with flour tortillas and one of the Southwest slaw recipes on this site. Using the purple cabbage gave it color and great texture when paired with the meat inside the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckythebarber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Fantastic! Not spicy as written, but I used a can of "hot" rotel and a can of garlic diced tomatoes, along with a little more meat and it was perfect. I'll make this again and again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
It was good but not great. It was definitely NOT spicy at all I actually felt like the tomatoes made it a little sweet. The tomato taste was a little overwhelming and it needed a little "something", don't know what but something. I might try it again but I'll make some adjustments next time. But overall not bad and my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Super easy and came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is a great base from which to add your personal favorites. I followed the recipe exactly and it worked well. You will want to add some cayenne or possibly tomatoes with green chiles if you want more of a kick. Next time I'll increase the garlic and make more so I can freeze some. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I give it 4 stars as written, mostly because the name is very misleading. There is nothing spicy in the recipe. I had 3 lbs of round roast that I used, increasing the cumin and garlic accordingly. Instead of plain tomatoes, I substituted about 2 cups (for 3 lbs) of medium salsa. It was absolutely wonderful. I think that if you like milder flavor, it would be good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Yum, yum, YUM! Okay so I hate when people completely recreate the recipe and then rate for good or bad. With that said I did make a few changes but I feel that they were slight enough that they did not alter the integrity of the recipe so I'll still rate. First of all I turn anything I can into a slow cooker meal. So I browned the meat just for a few minutes and then tossed it and all the ingredients in the slow cooker and cooked for several hours on low. I used a can of tomatoes with green chilies (instead of just tomatoes) and added a small amount (probably 1 tsp) of beef broth and around 2 tsps white sugar. I think those small changes augmented the flavor beautifully. I used a chuck roast cut up and I the slow cooker really helped get the meat to a nice tender state that shredded well. I mostly put in the sugar to neutralize the acidity of the tomatoes but it actually gave it just the slightest sweet taste which was so good! We used the meat for tacos with diced fresh tomatoes, cilantro and sour cream. Wow! My husband loved these and my almost 4 year old adored them. A winner for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara Broderick-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Very good but surprised that it wasn’t more “spicy” which is ok. Adults added more kick. We enjoyed on warm soft corn tortillas, topped with sliced avacado, chopped cilantro, white onions, sour cream and diced tomatoes. Will be making again for sure to put in enchiladas. Thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States