Spicy Seafood Shell Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Debbie S.
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Wow - Oh Wow !! This are scrumptious. I love crab so this one is a definite keeper!! I sprinkled the top with Old Bay seasoning instead of paprika. This recipe wasn't as spicy as I thought it would be. Make extra - because these are addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This appetizer is AWESOME!! I can't believe more people haven't tried it. I've made it 3 times and everyone asks for the recipe. Very easy and delicious!! A must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I started this recipe 45 minutes before I was to appear at a party...and made it there on time!!! It was EXTREMELY easy, delicious and fast. The recipe states it uses 36 tart shells but I used 45 and had leftover filling. Next time I think I will perk it up a little with the hot sauce or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
These were delicious and so simple to make. Everyone of my guest requested this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Wonderful recipe! Even my husband who has warned me on several occasions that he will die on the spot if he ever eats crab had several of these and he's still with us! I did make a few changes.I used fresh shrimp and lots more hot sauce. It's easy to taste and adjust along the way. Thanks Mary Beth, this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I wish I could rate this with 10 stars! This recipe is truly outstanding and pretty to serve as well. Next time I think I will use more fresh shrimp and more hot sauce. I had plenty of filling and thus used three boxes of shells. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
Fabulous! I did however make a few changes. Instead of regular onion, I used thinly sliced green onion. I also added a bit of ground red pepper to give it more of a kick. Other than that, it was perfect. Thank you for the incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Wow, everyone loved this. It was so fast and easy in the pre-baked phyllo shells. I like spicy, so I added some ground red pepper and also Old Bay seasoning in addition to the hot sauce. I didn't have swiss cheese so I used white cheddar and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Very Godd! I substituted Cheddar for Swiss and used all shrimp instead of a can of each. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
These sounded really good, but I was disappointed. I wish the recipe submitter would list the manufacturer of the "shells" and if they are frozen, etc. I couldn't find any phyllo shells so I cut Pepperidge Farm pastry sheets into squares. They puffed up well and looked nice but they took about 35 mins to cook. The filling was too fishy tasting for me. If I made these again I would get fresh crab meat and shrimp to cut down on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Spicy Romesco Pizza

This rich and spicy Romesco Pizza is perfect with a tall glass of milk!

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States