Spicy Seafood Shell Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Loved this recipe! I did a little tweaking to it, such as using frozen shrimp, chopped up and imitation crab rather than using stunfortunately from cans. I also used wonton wrappers because I couldn't find phyllo dough. I have made them on two different occasion and they were a hit! I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
These weren't spicy. I would add some extra heat if you like spicy. To me the mayo was over bearing. I will decrease it next time. All in all very good, just very rich. Can't eat to many at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Outstanding recipe. It was a hit at my Christmas Eve get together. Even my friend who is comparable to a chef requested the recipe. Not one for canned seafood, I used fresh shrimp and imitation crabmeat (a first for me but small portions of crab unavailable). I also used the pre-made phyllo shells. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibe1cent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
this is a good recipe but i suggest using a little less mayo, i also used refrigerated biscuits,delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These were a big hit. I used puff pastry in cupcake tins. Switched 4oz of light cream cheese plus approx.3/4 c of mayo for the mayo. added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes and switched and used approx. 4 tsp of chipotle hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bec6815

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Murdock, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These were great! Didn't change anything in the recipe, however, I served them in little phyllo shells and sprinkled Old Bay on top instead of paprika. They were a huge hit on our Easter buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Love these!! Easy and delicious. They go fast at parties. I can fill 60 frozen fillo cups with this receipe. Tweek the hot pepper more or less to your taste. I find that 10 drops doesn't make it very spicey at all, so I add a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Was sllightly disappointed..I usually love shrimp and crab...maybe it was the the mayo? Not too sure...I will have to experiment with it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I liked this recipe, but I tweaked it a bit. I used cream cheese instead of mayonnaise as 1 reviewer suggested. I also used Gruyerre cheese (hope I spelled that right) instead of swiss cheese. I used fresh shrimp and canned crabmeat. The crabmeat kind of gave it a fishy taste that i didn't like. So next time I may use all fresh shrimp or if i do add crabmeat it will have to be fresh. But this was a very good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Ridiculously easy. I thought when I read the reviews.....Ya right, like I'm going to whip these up before the party. Well, I did just that. I got the frozen little pastry cups (3 pkgs), filled them while still in their plastic holder, put them all on a cookie sheet for transport, got to the party, placed them on the cookie sheet and BAM! What a hit I was!! I think using fresh shrimp and Miracle whip really made this great. A KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurieB1963

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Spicy Romesco Pizza

This rich and spicy Romesco Pizza is perfect with a tall glass of milk!

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States