Spicy Seafood Shell Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Absolutely fabulous recipe! Taking into account others comments, here's some clarification: Use 1 teaspoon of tobasco sauce, as you never can tell how much 10 drops are. Add a good dash or three of Old Bay Seasoning and about 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper. Use Fillo frozen fully cooked pastry shells. Used hubby as a ginea pig last night and he ate a whole sheet of these yummy morsels! Excellent with a nice chilled white to compliment the creamy seafood taste. My next party will be a hit. And you can easily keep the simple ingredients for this recipe on hand to whip up in a moments notice to wow drop-in visitors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie S.
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Wow - Oh Wow !! This are scrumptious. I love crab so this one is a definite keeper!! I sprinkled the top with Old Bay seasoning instead of paprika. This recipe wasn't as spicy as I thought it would be. Make extra - because these are addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I wish I could rate this with 10 stars! This recipe is truly outstanding and pretty to serve as well. Next time I think I will use more fresh shrimp and more hot sauce. I had plenty of filling and thus used three boxes of shells. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I started this recipe 45 minutes before I was to appear at a party...and made it there on time!!! It was EXTREMELY easy, delicious and fast. The recipe states it uses 36 tart shells but I used 45 and had leftover filling. Next time I think I will perk it up a little with the hot sauce or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I had some phyllo dough that needed to be used so I made my own tarts by using 4 buttered sheets of phyllo, layered on top of one another. I cut the layered sheet into 6 equal squares & tucked them into standard size muffin tins that I had sprayed w/ Pam. I had a bit of trouble getting the first one out but then I let the others cool a bit before giving them a twist & popping them out w/ the aid of a knife. For the cheese filling, I did add Old Bay seasoning & additional hot sauce & worcestershire, as well as some dried parsley & thyme. Instead of sprinkling the top w/ paprika after baking, I sprinkled the top w/ dried parsley before baking. These were so good & so filling that my husband & I made our appetizer into our meal. All we did was add a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made this last night with one major change. Instead of using mayonnaise I used 8 oz light cream cheese. I melted the cream cheese in a sauce pan, added 1 can of crabmeat, used 6 large fresh shrimp cooked in white wine then chopped. Added the fresh parmesean cheese, shredded Gruyere cheese, 2 to 3 Tbsp of cocktail sauce, old bay seasoning along with the worcestshire sauce and hot pepper sauce. Served some in the mine phyllo tarts and some of pumpernickle cocktail bread. Both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Wonderful recipe! Even my husband who has warned me on several occasions that he will die on the spot if he ever eats crab had several of these and he's still with us! I did make a few changes.I used fresh shrimp and lots more hot sauce. It's easy to taste and adjust along the way. Thanks Mary Beth, this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Wow, everyone loved this. It was so fast and easy in the pre-baked phyllo shells. I like spicy, so I added some ground red pepper and also Old Bay seasoning in addition to the hot sauce. I didn't have swiss cheese so I used white cheddar and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
Fabulous! I did however make a few changes. Instead of regular onion, I used thinly sliced green onion. I also added a bit of ground red pepper to give it more of a kick. Other than that, it was perfect. Thank you for the incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Not a big hit at my party. They taste better when they are hot, but they are hard to keep hot. And I just didn't think they tasted all that special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States