Spicy Seafood Shell Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I tried these for a Thanksgiving appetizer this year and they were so good, I've made them several times since to rave reviews everytime. Easy to prepare in advance and easy to heat up once cooked as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Fontaine Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Rave reviews from this recipe! I also add more hot sauce than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
rave reviews but I add some more spice. I tried Old Bay Seasoning and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Great recipe. I don't use the shells and just put it all in a pie dish and bake and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
These were pretty good, though my husband liked them more than me. Despite adding way more hot sauce than the recipe called for, I still didn't think they were especially spicy. I used half-and-half and an egg instead of the mayonnaise. Also, the crab meat seemed to disappear into the cheese/cream filling, so I would probably use imitation crab meat next time to improve the texture of the filling while retaining the flavor. Finally, I thought the pastry shells were pretty expensive. I would use a regular pie crust shell next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Wow! Theses were so good and easy. They went so fast at the party I only got to eat one! I used just crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I made this recipe last week for a party and they were delicious. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
These were very good. When I make them again I am going to use fresh seafood and add a little garlic powder. I used green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Awesome recipe. Great for entertaining because they are so easy to make and they look pretty. I modified the recipe by adding 4 oz. of cream cheese and reducing the mayo to 1 cup. I also used only 1 cup of cheddar instead of the other cheeses and I used green onions to give it more color. I also used 3/4 lb.fresh salad shrimp instead of the canned seafood. Don't be afraid to go 15 drops on the tobasco, it still had a great taste and wasn't too spicy. Everyone at our party loved these and they were the first things to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Awesome! Not as spicy as I thought they'd be. Next time I will add extra hot sauce or something. I used 2 packages of the phyllo shells and had left over shrimp mixture. Later that night, after all the appetizers were gone we baked the left over mixture for about 20 minutes and finished it off with crackers. It was just as good that way. I used frozen salad shrimp instead of cannned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Spicy Romesco Pizza

This rich and spicy Romesco Pizza is perfect with a tall glass of milk!

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States