Spicy Seafood Shell Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I did not change a thing with this recipe. Excellent, will make again. These freeze well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These were O.K. If I make them again I will probably add some crushed red pepper to give some more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I baked three first to try them and then added more hot sauce and 3 ounces of cream cheese. This made them taste much better, with more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I had some phyllo dough that needed to be used so I made my own tarts by using 4 buttered sheets of phyllo, layered on top of one another. I cut the layered sheet into 6 equal squares & tucked them into standard size muffin tins that I had sprayed w/ Pam. I had a bit of trouble getting the first one out but then I let the others cool a bit before giving them a twist & popping them out w/ the aid of a knife. For the cheese filling, I did add Old Bay seasoning & additional hot sauce & worcestershire, as well as some dried parsley & thyme. Instead of sprinkling the top w/ paprika after baking, I sprinkled the top w/ dried parsley before baking. These were so good & so filling that my husband & I made our appetizer into our meal. All we did was add a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Not a big hit at my party. They taste better when they are hot, but they are hard to keep hot. And I just didn't think they tasted all that special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
What a hit!! I made this for a wine group and they were gone in no time. I does make alot of extra filling, so the next day I spread in on a pita and broiled it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Absolutely fabulous recipe! Taking into account others comments, here's some clarification: Use 1 teaspoon of tobasco sauce, as you never can tell how much 10 drops are. Add a good dash or three of Old Bay Seasoning and about 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper. Use Fillo frozen fully cooked pastry shells. Used hubby as a ginea pig last night and he ate a whole sheet of these yummy morsels! Excellent with a nice chilled white to compliment the creamy seafood taste. My next party will be a hit. And you can easily keep the simple ingredients for this recipe on hand to whip up in a moments notice to wow drop-in visitors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Was good, I was just hoping for better. Guests seemed to enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I am giving it three stars which in this case was high, but I feel terrible giving it anything lower since I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I was out of phyllo dough when I decided to make for the Super Bowl yesterday so I used ready made pie crusts. Everything else was exact except I did add some garlic powder and used fresh seafood. My husband took one bite and that was enough, I took a bite of the rest and it was enough for me too. Sorry Mary Beth!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I made these appetizers for New Years and they were a hit (at least with the seafood lovers in the crowd). Very Easy to make! I bought 3 boxes of Phyllo Shells and still had extra filling which I used on crackers then. I will most certainly make this yummy treat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Spicy Romesco Pizza

This rich and spicy Romesco Pizza is perfect with a tall glass of milk!

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States