Spicy Seafood Shell Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Quite good - got rave reviews at Super Bowl party. Giving 4 stars because, as many other reviewers noted, some tweaks can make this recipe better. I usually follow a first time recipe as written which I did with this one. It was really tasty and rich but I tend to agree with other reviewers who said it was a little too mayonnaise-y. I used canned shrimp and canned crab meat and had no problem with that at all. I also used prepared phyllo mini tarts as the recipe noted. I live in a major market and found these in my local grocery store but they may not be available everywhere. Lastly, I definitely would kick it up a notch with more hot sauce and red pepper flakes. Personal preference. Overall, very good and with some minor changes..a 5-star recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Loved this recipe! I did a little tweaking to it, such as using frozen shrimp, chopped up and imitation crab rather than using stunfortunately from cans. I also used wonton wrappers because I couldn't find phyllo dough. I have made them on two different occasion and they were a hit! I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
These weren't spicy. I would add some extra heat if you like spicy. To me the mayo was over bearing. I will decrease it next time. All in all very good, just very rich. Can't eat to many at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Outstanding recipe. It was a hit at my Christmas Eve get together. Even my friend who is comparable to a chef requested the recipe. Not one for canned seafood, I used fresh shrimp and imitation crabmeat (a first for me but small portions of crab unavailable). I also used the pre-made phyllo shells. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibe1cent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
this is a good recipe but i suggest using a little less mayo, i also used refrigerated biscuits,delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These were a big hit. I used puff pastry in cupcake tins. Switched 4oz of light cream cheese plus approx.3/4 c of mayo for the mayo. added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes and switched and used approx. 4 tsp of chipotle hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bec6815

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Murdock, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These were great! Didn't change anything in the recipe, however, I served them in little phyllo shells and sprinkled Old Bay on top instead of paprika. They were a huge hit on our Easter buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Love these!! Easy and delicious. They go fast at parties. I can fill 60 frozen fillo cups with this receipe. Tweek the hot pepper more or less to your taste. I find that 10 drops doesn't make it very spicey at all, so I add a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Was sllightly disappointed..I usually love shrimp and crab...maybe it was the the mayo? Not too sure...I will have to experiment with it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I liked this recipe, but I tweaked it a bit. I used cream cheese instead of mayonnaise as 1 reviewer suggested. I also used Gruyerre cheese (hope I spelled that right) instead of swiss cheese. I used fresh shrimp and canned crabmeat. The crabmeat kind of gave it a fishy taste that i didn't like. So next time I may use all fresh shrimp or if i do add crabmeat it will have to be fresh. But this was a very good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Spicy Romesco Pizza

This rich and spicy Romesco Pizza is perfect with a tall glass of milk!

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States