Spicy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
These were moist and had nice flavor. I did not have currants so I used a mix of raisins, craisins, and chopped dates. Easy recipe to follow. The dough was a little sticky so I ended up adding a tad more flour until the consistency was right to shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by AnPan
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very good scones!... actually the first I've ever made ;). these were very good, and left the kitchen smelling like a cinnamon spicy heaven! surprisingly easy to make, a little bit breaddy for scones, but overall very good. I did not use milk, and they turned out fine with a dollop of yogurt and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnPan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
My son loves these scones! I leave out the raisins and add 1/2 tsp. ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These are really good as is. I only did half the servings. And I used only regular flour and they turned out just fine. The only thing I would add is more sugar. I think the recipe could double the sugar. Didn't have nutmeg on hand, so I used cloves, and allspice instead. yum yum yum! At little hot tea and you're in heaven folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
The scones were great! I like my scones sweet so I doubled the amount of white sugar. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was a tasty scone, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelazdesign

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Delicious, simple, didn't change a thing. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I love these scones. The first time I followed the recipe exactly but omitted the currents (didn't have any). They were great, but I did wish the spices were a little stronger. I just made them a second time, but I DOUBLED the spices and used raisins that I chopped up into bits. I also used light vanilla soymilk because I did not have any milk (I don't think this made any difference). Turned out amazing! These are cake-like scones that are (as scones should be) not too sweet. I will make these scones again and again with the spices doubled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My whole family loved these. I didn't have nutmeg so I used ginger and I sprinkled some crushed hazelnuts on top. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Tasty, but some of them fell apart. I'll probably try these again. I really liked the wheat flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States