Spicy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
When you want scones that are a little more nutritional than the ordinary, these are the ones for you. They taste great. And my kids liked them. I used raisins instead of currants. Next time I will definitely use a full cup. I only had 1% milk so I used that and it didn't seem to make any difference. You could probably substitute almost anything for the currants and it would be great. I'm going to try sauteed apples next time with a bit more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I love these scones. Freh from the oven they are delicious, and even the next day they have a great flavor. i always add more spices and raisins. Thanks for a great recipe Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
Really wonderful! They couldn't be quicker or easier, and the smell is incredible. I used raisins instead of currants; they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I love these scones. The first time I followed the recipe exactly but omitted the currents (didn't have any). They were great, but I did wish the spices were a little stronger. I just made them a second time, but I DOUBLED the spices and used raisins that I chopped up into bits. I also used light vanilla soymilk because I did not have any milk (I don't think this made any difference). Turned out amazing! These are cake-like scones that are (as scones should be) not too sweet. I will make these scones again and again with the spices doubled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was a tasty scone, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelazdesign

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Delicious, simple, didn't change a thing. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
These are simply the best scones I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
These are fantastic! They were really tasty the first time I made them, exactly according to the recipe except I used all whole wheat pastry flour and raisins. The second time I made them, I used an extra 1/2tsp of cinnamon and craisins instead of raisins. That really put them over the top. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My whole family loved these. I didn't have nutmeg so I used ginger and I sprinkled some crushed hazelnuts on top. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
The scones were great! I like my scones sweet so I doubled the amount of white sugar. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States