Spicy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
Really wonderful! They couldn't be quicker or easier, and the smell is incredible. I used raisins instead of currants; they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
If you like a cake like scone, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
These are simply the best scones I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I love these scones. Freh from the oven they are delicious, and even the next day they have a great flavor. i always add more spices and raisins. Thanks for a great recipe Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
These are fantastic! They were really tasty the first time I made them, exactly according to the recipe except I used all whole wheat pastry flour and raisins. The second time I made them, I used an extra 1/2tsp of cinnamon and craisins instead of raisins. That really put them over the top. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I made these for a Mother/Daughter tea party. They went over fairly well. Perhaps I'm just not much of a scone person, but they tasted a little bland or dry. Overall they were okay, but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great scones! I used a second cup of all-purpose flour instead of whole wheat, and left out the currants. The only problem I had was that they took 25 minutes to cook instead of 15. I especially liked the way the glaze on the top came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shirley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
When you want scones that are a little more nutritional than the ordinary, these are the ones for you. They taste great. And my kids liked them. I used raisins instead of currants. Next time I will definitely use a full cup. I only had 1% milk so I used that and it didn't seem to make any difference. You could probably substitute almost anything for the currants and it would be great. I'm going to try sauteed apples next time with a bit more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Tasty, but some of them fell apart. I'll probably try these again. I really liked the wheat flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My whole family loved these. I didn't have nutmeg so I used ginger and I sprinkled some crushed hazelnuts on top. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States