Spicy Scarborough Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Definitely short on flavor......would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I marinated some thin sliced, boneless, skinless chicken breasts in this for about 4 hours. Then I skewered them on kebabs and my husband grilled them. The only things I changed were: I used a jalapeño instead of a habanero because I have so many and I need to use them before they are bad, and I added a splash of Worcestershire sauce. The marinade smelled heavenly and tasted delicious from what I could tell... But mostly what I tasted was charred meat because that's what happens to any food left alone for too long with my husband and a grill... I think it would have been 5 star otherwise. So I'll have to try it again and keep better tabs on the king of the grill. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Was looking for a new fast and easy recipe for chicken as we eat it so often that I'm tired of my usual recipes. I was skeptical about the white wine/olive oil base but it looked interesting so I gave it a go and am sure glad I did! I didn't have a habanero and since I currently love anything with chipolte used about 1 tablespoon of dried chipolte flakes. I also only had fresh rosemary so had to use dried for the other herbs, and only had time to marinade the chicken for 40 minutes. However, it turned out absolutely delicious, my husband loved them, and I can't wait to make it again with fresh herbs and a long marinade time! I did cook the chicken thighs an unusual way, which although not as healthy it helped infused the flavors after such a short time in the marinade. I have some small 7" x 10" roasting pans with a top rack and instead of putting the chicken thighs on the rack so the fat would pool in the bottom section, I put them skin down in the bottom section and poured half of the marinade over them so they were surrounded half way up by liquid. I cooked them at 400 for 20 minutes during which time the marinade cooked down by about half, and I then turned them over skin up, scooped as much of the herbs as I could onto the skin and then cooked them another 20 minutes at 425 to brown the skin. Perfect! Browned on top and oh so moist and juicy. I did absorb as much fat as I could before serving by setting them bottom down on folded paper towels. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was okay. Not really spicy though. I'm a sissy when it comes to chilies and I didn't have a problem at all with this. I followed it to a T except that I doubled the recipe. Watch this on the grill. It burns faster than you'd think it would. Thanks Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is just the right amount of heat. Grilled some chicken with this for dinner and served with salad and cheesy poblano rice. Used the leftover chicken the next day for chicken burritos. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Pam, this is a real winner. I must confess that I used only fresh rosemary and thyme, the other two herbs dried, and one red jalapeno. The other thing I did was to marinate it only for three hours! Next time I will add another jalapeno and marinate the chicken overnight. Even with these modifications, the chicken was absolutely delicious. I had kosher chicken pieces from Trader Joe's, and because they were big pieces, I baked them in all the marinade for about half an hour before placing them on the grill for finishing (learned that trick from Melinda Lee, our local talk show host) so they didn't burn. Juicy, perfect chicken was the result. We may not be able to wait until dinner for the leftovers! Thanks, Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
So good I could drink it straight! Our new favorite marinade for chicken! I love that you use all fresh herbs! I confess to using a variety of hot peppers but that is my only "tweak" Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Good, but the Riesling I had in the house didn't work so well... this definitely needs a dry white wine! I didn't have a pepper so I left that out. Used 1 T dried parsley and 1 t dried of each of the other herbs, and the chicken had a nice herb-y taste. Next time I will add the hot pepper and use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Delicious marinade for chicken with a really cute name! What a wonderful combination of fresh herbs. I subbed a jalapeno pepper as that's what I had on hand and upped the garlic a bit (love the stuff). I pounded my chicken down a bit and poked it with a fork then put everything into a ziploc bag and let it go all day turning it once in a while. The chicken was moist, full of flavor with a nice kick from the pepper. I dare say even "Simon and Garfunkel" would approve. Thanks for a great recipe Pam-3BoysMama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made for Recipe Group: 16, July 2011 This marinade was packed with flavor and was wonderful on chicken breast. I used all the fresh herbs, but used a jalapeño pepper instead of a habanero. The next time I'm going to try the habanero or up the jalapeño to 2 peppers. I used a Chardonnay for the dry wine. Can't wait to try this again with a pork tenderloin and steaks. Thanks Pam for sharing your recipe. This was a good RG choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States