Spicy Scarborough Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Delicious marinade for chicken with a really cute name! What a wonderful combination of fresh herbs. I subbed a jalapeno pepper as that's what I had on hand and upped the garlic a bit (love the stuff). I pounded my chicken down a bit and poked it with a fork then put everything into a ziploc bag and let it go all day turning it once in a while. The chicken was moist, full of flavor with a nice kick from the pepper. I dare say even "Simon and Garfunkel" would approve. Thanks for a great recipe Pam-3BoysMama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My husband loves this marinade. I came up with this to use the the various herbs growing in my garden. I used a small orange habanero. Serrano or jalapeno peppers would work well, too. Use your preference, and use less if you like. The longer your chicken marinates, the spicier it will become. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. Delightful flavor. I used a pepper my aunt cans, one wasn't enough, next time need more heat. Used some dried herbs as I don't grow all of these fresh, but the fresh ones come through so much better! I didn't salt or pepper and they needed a little salt. Very flavorful marinade, thanks Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is just the right amount of heat. Grilled some chicken with this for dinner and served with salad and cheesy poblano rice. Used the leftover chicken the next day for chicken burritos. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 7/16/11. I had doubts about using habanero pepper in this but I screwed up my courage and went with it and I am glad I did. Because of a change in plans my chicken marinated almost 24 hours so the flavor really penetrated. We will have this again. Thanks, Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Thank you Recipe Group for finding this delicious selection. Because my husband doesn’t like anything too spicy, I used a jalapeño pepper instead of the habanero. I cut the chicken breasts in half lengthwise and marinated it for 6 hours but wished I had marinated it longer. Next time I will marinate it overnight to infuse more of that wonderful flavor. Thanks Pam for a great marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
So good I could drink it straight! Our new favorite marinade for chicken! I love that you use all fresh herbs! I confess to using a variety of hot peppers but that is my only "tweak" Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made for Recipe Group: 16, July 2011 This marinade was packed with flavor and was wonderful on chicken breast. I used all the fresh herbs, but used a jalapeño pepper instead of a habanero. The next time I'm going to try the habanero or up the jalapeño to 2 peppers. I used a Chardonnay for the dry wine. Can't wait to try this again with a pork tenderloin and steaks. Thanks Pam for sharing your recipe. This was a good RG choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Pam, this is a real winner. I must confess that I used only fresh rosemary and thyme, the other two herbs dried, and one red jalapeno. The other thing I did was to marinate it only for three hours! Next time I will add another jalapeno and marinate the chicken overnight. Even with these modifications, the chicken was absolutely delicious. I had kosher chicken pieces from Trader Joe's, and because they were big pieces, I baked them in all the marinade for about half an hour before placing them on the grill for finishing (learned that trick from Melinda Lee, our local talk show host) so they didn't burn. Juicy, perfect chicken was the result. We may not be able to wait until dinner for the leftovers! Thanks, Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Good, but the Riesling I had in the house didn't work so well... this definitely needs a dry white wine! I didn't have a pepper so I left that out. Used 1 T dried parsley and 1 t dried of each of the other herbs, and the chicken had a nice herb-y taste. Next time I will add the hot pepper and use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States