Spicy Sausage and Peppers Over Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I made this as directed with hot turkey sausage, but did make one small substitution: 1 c diced tomatoes instead of the grape tomatoes since I didn't have any on hand. I enjoyed this and will make it again. I used a leaner turkey sausage. Since the recipe doesn't call for any oil or cooking spray when you brown the sausage or the cook the garlic/onions/peppers, I assumed it was because I was supposed to cook the vegetables in the fat that cooked out of the sausage. I had no cooked-out fat, so I added a small amount of olive oil to the skillet instead. This worked out well for me. In the future, I might grill the sausage outdoors, then slice and add to the vegetable mixture at the end. Thanks, tiffschrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Very tasty and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Great recipe :-) I changed a few things but it's defiantly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe, and very quick to throw together if you use whole grain minute rice. The rice takes 5 minutes to cook and tastes great :). I used red peppers because its what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
YUM! We all loved this. I used kielbasa but this would be just as good with any type of sausage you prefer. I also used a can of diced tomato because it's all I had, and I didn't have any pimento (I thought I did when I chose this recipe) but I used everything else as how it's written. However because it was kielbasa and didn't need to brown as raw sausage needs to I started everything in the skillet at the same time as I started the rice. I used brown basmati so that takes a while to cook - and everything was so delicious and we will definitely be making this regularly!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Great wholesome meal. Instead of pomento, I used green olives with pomento and it was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is an excellent recipe...especially if you're not too confident in your cooking skills. It's fast, easy and delicious. Try adding yellow bell peppers to the mix. It turned out great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Fantastic recipe. Quick and easy. Will use this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerBun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Simple recipe I was able to use with ingredients I had on hand. I didn't add pimento because I didn't have it and used red peppers, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanBean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tony
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made this and didn't put the tomatoes or pimentos in and it still tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States