Spicy Sausage Soup with Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This soup is now permanently part of my make-soup-onSunday-to-carry-to-work-all week collection. Fabulous flavor, aroma. I did not crumble the sausage, saw no need and was able to drain the sliced links sufficiently. At the last minute, I found I had no carrots...but did not miss them. The cilantro *makes* this soup (but I know that some folk cannot stand the stuff).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Very yummy. I used different beans and chick peas instead of hominy (didn't have any) but I'm sure it didn't make a bit of difference. We loved it. I used one pound of sausage instead of two and I didn't take the casings off of the sausage. Nobody noticed. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
A hearty, tasty soup. Served with garlic bread and fresh fruit, and my husband loved it. A minor change from the recipe, I used two cans of beans and one cup of cilantro (two bunches). This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Washington, USA
Living In: Montesano, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Excellent very meaty soup, but you gotta like cilantro. I cut back a little the first time and will only put about half of what the recipe calls for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Providence, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
My kitchen smelled wonderful and my husband loved this soup, said it was the best he ever had. I have a request to make it for his mom. I simmered the soup for 1 1/2, and it was still perfect. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Excellent soup! Added some vegetables that my husband will eat like green beans and corn, and used regular Italian sausage not the hot. I have made this soup many times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Fabulous, hearty fare! I made a few changes: No hominy, extra can of Northern beans, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, and a combo of hot and mild italian (turkey) sausage (total weight 1.5 lbs). (I also needed to add more water while it was simmering to make the soup more brothy.) With some warm bread from the oven, this soup makes a wonderful winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
We loved this soup and have renamed it Mexican Minestrone. Based on what was in the house, we substituted consume, Rotel tomatoes, barley and garbanzos for the beef broth, stewed tomatoes, hominy and Great Northern beans respectively. I was unsure about the amount of cilantro the first time that I made the recipe, but found that it was a it was a great addition and very refreshing. Have made it quite a few times. Always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Thanks for the recipe! I absolutely adore this and make it often. At first I found removing the casings tiem-consuming but now it's a piece of cake. So much flavour and perfect for a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This was great tasting and easy to make. I left out the zucchini and the hominy and substituted chicken broth for beef broth. I also used canned diced tomoatoes with Italian seasonings. The reason for the changes was because of what I had on hand. I will make this again and again since it is so adaptable to what is in the cupboard - and fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States