Spicy Sausage Soup with Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I used mild italian sausage, bulk from the butcher and added red pepper flakes to the soup to our liking. I formed the italian sausage into meatballs and cooked them per the recipe. Changed nothing else. WONDERFUL! We love cilantro and thought this was GREAT! Served it with a cheesy foccacia bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
A hearty, tasty soup. Served with garlic bread and fresh fruit, and my husband loved it. A minor change from the recipe, I used two cans of beans and one cup of cilantro (two bunches). This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Washington, USA
Living In: Montesano, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
We loved this soup and have renamed it Mexican Minestrone. Based on what was in the house, we substituted consume, Rotel tomatoes, barley and garbanzos for the beef broth, stewed tomatoes, hominy and Great Northern beans respectively. I was unsure about the amount of cilantro the first time that I made the recipe, but found that it was a it was a great addition and very refreshing. Have made it quite a few times. Always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Excellent soup! Added some vegetables that my husband will eat like green beans and corn, and used regular Italian sausage not the hot. I have made this soup many times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Very yummy. I used different beans and chick peas instead of hominy (didn't have any) but I'm sure it didn't make a bit of difference. We loved it. I used one pound of sausage instead of two and I didn't take the casings off of the sausage. Nobody noticed. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
As far as I am concerned, cilatro tastes like bar soap. This soup works great with ¼-½ cup of just regular, normal parsley. A bottle of dark beer makes it even better (in the soup, that is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Excellent very meaty soup, but you gotta like cilantro. I cut back a little the first time and will only put about half of what the recipe calls for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Providence, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Fabulous, hearty fare! I made a few changes: No hominy, extra can of Northern beans, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, and a combo of hot and mild italian (turkey) sausage (total weight 1.5 lbs). (I also needed to add more water while it was simmering to make the soup more brothy.) With some warm bread from the oven, this soup makes a wonderful winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I love cilantro so I was anxious to try this. This is very meaty - next time I'll reduce the Italian sausage to 1 1/2 lbs. I don't like my dishes too spicy so I used regular (not hot) Italian sausage, but it was still a bit spicy (perhaps from the black pepper - next time I'll cut the amt. of black pepper in half). I reduced the salt by half and was glad I did - any more and I think it would have been a bit salty. Overall a delicious soup. The fresh cilantro is delicious in this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This was great tasting and easy to make. I left out the zucchini and the hominy and substituted chicken broth for beef broth. I also used canned diced tomoatoes with Italian seasonings. The reason for the changes was because of what I had on hand. I will make this again and again since it is so adaptable to what is in the cupboard - and fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States