Spicy Sausage Soup with Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this today. I didn't change a thing about the recipe and most times I usually tweak something about a recipe. This was a winner as is. It's delicious and super simple to make...can't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I really loved this. Its meaty and hearty. Its super easy. You really have to like cilantro (which I LOVE). If you don't you could mix it up with parsley, spinach or kale whatever. I made it as is, but I think it could be pretty versatile. I will definitely make this again. YUMMY, YUMMY,YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBadSeed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Unusual but good. Made it with homemade Italian sausage formed into itty bitty balls. The sausage flavor greatly impacts the overall flavor of the soup, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I absolutely love this soup! I added a small jar of roasted poblanos and one juice from a lemon! Definitely make this again! You have to love cilantro in order to like this soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Made this soup Just as it stated but added a cup of rice the last 20 min. Adding the rice made it a thicker more filling soup. Overall it was a pretty darn good soup easy to make too. Definitely going to make this soup again, especially on a rainy day. Loved it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Valenzuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Tried it and loved it. Though even as a strict meat-a-tarian I would consider cutting the amount of Sausage. Heavy protein meal, but a perfect winter meal. Now I might not be able to get up for a day or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Epp
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Like others I used Chick Peas instead of Hominy. My grocer did not have hot italian sausage so I used 1/2 regular italian and 1/2 Chorizo. I also bought it in bulk so I did not have to mess with the casings. It was amazing. The spice of the Chorizo was just enough to give it a little kick. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great soup - though I agree with some other reviewers, way to heavy on the cilantro. I ended up using about half a cup of cilantro with half a cup of parsley, but it was still to overpowering of a flavor. Next time I'm going to cut the cilantro to 1/4 a cup and see how it tastes. I also cut up some potato and threw it in. While the ratio of sausage to vegetable is great/tasty, next time I'm also going to increase the veggies and cut out a pound of the sausage to make it healthier. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This soup is FANTASTIC. Without beef broth in the cupboard, I used beef bullion (so I didn't add salt). Used only one pound (didn't have two) hot Italian sausage. I hesitated with two whole cups of cilantro, but threw it all in and it was divine. I made open faced grilled cheese in the toaster oven on sourdough for an excellent compliment. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I had to alter the recipe based on what I had on hand. Left out the beans, used one can of beef broth and one can of chicken broth, added chopped green pepers, no cilantro. Still came out good. We used extra hot sausauges and I think that added to the flavor of the soup as well. Overall came out very tasty!! Easy to modify based on what you have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States