Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
I give this five stars only after revising the recipe as follows: increase chopped tomatoes to 1 gallon reduce jalapenos to 3 chopped jalapeno peppers. increase onions to 2 cups add 1 tablespoon of sugar add one box frozen sweetcorn increase garlic powder to 2 tablespoons bring to boil and reduce heat to simmer uncovered for 2 to 3 hours stirring regularly. One hour before completion add two 12 oz cans of tomato paste and stir in well. Cook until salsa is thick enough for your taste and just before removing from the heat add 1/2 cup of a dry red wine. This will can well and also freezes well. Add more peppers to give it more kick or stir in hot sauce before serving for those who like more heat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
This is my first traditional salsa recipe experience, with fresh vegetables for all the ingredients. I cooked it for what seemed like 2 1/2 hours, and my husband and his father both gave it a huge 2 thumbs up! I canned it in 1/2 pint jars (also my first canning experience), and ended up with 7 jars. It's going to last a long time. I liked the simple ingredient list and for once had everything fresh from my garden and in my pantry! My husband said I could do this recipe again, and my father-in-law took a jar home with him! Hats off to a great recipe Kim Niederreither!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I have modified this recipe to my liking. I have added 1 tsp of hickory smoke seasoning(liquid) and 1 cayenne pepper chopped really fine and also substituted a regular red pepper along with the geen pepper to this recipe.Also use 1/2 the vinegar and I used white vinegar .Now I like this recipe.Great recipe to try and play with. !!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is a very easy recipe. I never made homemade salsa before, but my husband said, "It was better than a local restaurant that we ate at." That means a lot to me. I don't like when recipes don't turn out. Anyone could make this recipe. Of course I added some black pepper, cajun spice, and some other ingredients. I care not to reveal. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
its hot not for the faint of heart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This worked out very well. As another reviewer suggested, I didn't add any water and simmered the mixture for well over an hour. It tasted and smelled excellent! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I would use 4 cups canned diced tomatoes with the juice and replace the green peppers with red, orange or yellow as green can cause acid reflux with some people. Pour hot salsa into hot sterilzed jars and screw down tight, will keep up to six months or more if it lasts that long. The heat from the jalapeno pepper depends on how any seeds you leave in them that's where the heat comes from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This taste good, especially you can guage to how spicy you want it to be! Suitable for all ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very good recipe, very hot. I enjoy hot food, but husband does not. This was a recipe strictly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Everyone loved it. I accidentally doubled the tomatoes but glad I did. We all agreed it needed less cigar vinegar and extra jalapeño. Hoping to can some of this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcurtis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States