Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2000
Very watery and way too many jalepeneos. I like my salsa thick and some kick, but this just "burns" so bad that you will not be able to taste the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
Vinegary salsa soup... BLAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Although it's not a quick Salsa to make it is really worth the wait. I spooned out half of the batch and let the other half continue an extra hour and it was indeed spicier. Looking forward to some sport events to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I don't eat salsa, but this got a HUGE thumbs down from hubby. He didn't like this recipe at all. While I was cooking it, it looked more like soup than salsa, due to all the vinegar. I actually ended up straining it all out, but apparently, it didn't help. Hubby said the vinegar taste was overwhelming. I don't recommend this recipe and will delete it from my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I have modified this recipe to my liking. I have added 1 tsp of hickory smoke seasoning(liquid) and 1 cayenne pepper chopped really fine and also substituted a regular red pepper along with the geen pepper to this recipe.Also use 1/2 the vinegar and I used white vinegar .Now I like this recipe.Great recipe to try and play with. !!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
I give this five stars only after revising the recipe as follows: increase chopped tomatoes to 1 gallon reduce jalapenos to 3 chopped jalapeno peppers. increase onions to 2 cups add 1 tablespoon of sugar add one box frozen sweetcorn increase garlic powder to 2 tablespoons bring to boil and reduce heat to simmer uncovered for 2 to 3 hours stirring regularly. One hour before completion add two 12 oz cans of tomato paste and stir in well. Cook until salsa is thick enough for your taste and just before removing from the heat add 1/2 cup of a dry red wine. This will can well and also freezes well. Add more peppers to give it more kick or stir in hot sauce before serving for those who like more heat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
This is my first traditional salsa recipe experience, with fresh vegetables for all the ingredients. I cooked it for what seemed like 2 1/2 hours, and my husband and his father both gave it a huge 2 thumbs up! I canned it in 1/2 pint jars (also my first canning experience), and ended up with 7 jars. It's going to last a long time. I liked the simple ingredient list and for once had everything fresh from my garden and in my pantry! My husband said I could do this recipe again, and my father-in-law took a jar home with him! Hats off to a great recipe Kim Niederreither!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I thought that this sounded like a really good recipe and I was impressed at first with how easy it was and how beautiful the color was when began to simmer. I was very dissatisfied with the finished product. The overall taste was quite poor and the vinegar was overly pronounced, distracting from the tomato base and remaining ingredients. I would encourage others to find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This taste good, especially you can guage to how spicy you want it to be! Suitable for all ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is a very easy recipe. I never made homemade salsa before, but my husband said, "It was better than a local restaurant that we ate at." That means a lot to me. I don't like when recipes don't turn out. Anyone could make this recipe. Of course I added some black pepper, cajun spice, and some other ingredients. I care not to reveal. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States