Spicy Salmon with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Wow! This dish came out way better than I could have imagined. The paste forms a nice crust on the salmon making it have a cajun feel to it. The spiciness is nicely offset by the sweetness of the caramelized onions. It's also super simple to make. I did double the cayenne because I like spicy and omitted the onion powder (didn't have any.) I also used a whole onion which was the right choice. One note - if the salmon is thick then use a lower heat because the paste will burn the top while the inside remains raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Ahoney squeeze of honey to the marinade to give it some more sweetness. Also keep the onion in strips when they are minced you can't even taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Hubby actually liked this! It was too spicy for our 3 year old though. I baked my salmon in the oven, and used sliced onions rather than minced. It's great served with wild rice pilaf and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
The spice rub is fantastic! I rubbed my salmon with it and let the fish sit in the fridge for a few hours and then baked them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Outstanding, even the next day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
We made this recipe last night and paired it with a smoked gouda risotto. We poked some holes in the salmon with a fork to allow the marinade to soak in better. We cooked the fillets on the flesh side down first and then flipped them on the skin side, so that the marinade could form a crust and seal in moisture and also because we thought we could then cook them on the skin side a little longer if necessary. We diced the onion instead of mincing it and used half an onion. The onion was delicious and next time we will use a whole one. This was very flavorful, sweet and savory, and not too spicy (but we LOVE spicy foods). Next time, we'll add more cayenne to better suit our tastes. Overall, this was a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Soo good! The only complaint is we weren't expecting it to be soo spicy. But we just drizzled a bit of maple syrup over it, and it was heavenly. My guests gave it a 5 out of 5. Thank you! We served it with butternut squash, rice pilaf and a baby green salad with apples and grapes in it. Delish! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
A great zest! I served this to people who don't care of the "fishy" flavor of, well, fish! They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeebo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Although I like spicy food, this was a bit too spicy for me and my hubby. This is the secod time I'm making this recipe and only used 1/4 amount of the cayenne pepper. Other than being too spicy for me, it is absolutely delicious. It's definately a keeper. Thank you Romeo ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Love this recipe, it came out fantastic. My family kept saying how good it was. Its easy and so delicious. The only thing different was I added one whole onion for the topping. My new favorite salmon recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Followed recipe exactly except scaled down to two. It was amazing! It had great flavor. I am making it again tonight. We try to have fish three times a week and this one is a Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States