Spicy Roasted Red Pepper and Feta Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is the best hummus ever---actually I have never liked traditional hummus before. This version is very healthy/low-fat with no olive oil. I often use a fresh roasted red pepper instead of those in a jar. I first grill the red pepper and blacken the skin (you can also do that under the broiler) then peel off all the blackened skin and remove seed then throw the pepper in the food processor with the rest of the ingredients. UPDATE - Made this even better...delete the parsley and the salt and add a large clove of garlic and about a dozen kalamata olives (pitted of course!) and about a tbsp. of the brine that the olives come in! EVEN MORE FABULOUS and a good way to get healthy red peppers, beans and olives all in one dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I was super surprised by this! Beautiful flavor combo with the perfect amount of heat. I added 1 clove of garlic, because I adore garlic. I also made mine in the blender and needed to add a little liquid to get it moving. I added 3 TBS of water and 2 TBS of olive oil. It was beautiful and smooth and made a very generous amount of hummus. Thanks for a fantastic 5 star recipe! I also tossed with hot pasta for a delicious entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Very tasty; thank you for posting. The only tweaking was to add a tablespoon of tahini (from grounds sesame seeds), garlic to taste and to reduce the lemon to two tablespoons. The result, simply DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Wow! I love hummus and have eaten a lot of it...but this has to be one of the best that I have not only eaten, but made as well. And I must admit, it was my first attempt at making hummus. I decided to try three varieties and this would be my favorite. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebarbiedoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious and so simple to make! To decrease the amount of fat, I used reduced fat feta cheese and halved the amount. I also omitted the fresh parsley because I didn't have any. With all these changes it was still very tasty. Thanks Valerie, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Fantastic! Based on reviews, I decreased the lemon juice to one tablespoon. It was a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but this definitely needed olive oil and tahini. Mine was way too thick & hot. I'll stick to buying my hummus from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is the first and last hummus I will ever make. It is absolutely delicious just as the recipe reads. Just the right amount of spice and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Made just the way the ingredients are listed, the feta flavor was really overwhelming. I had toa dd more roasted red peppers to balance it out and I think next time I will start with about half the feta and taste and add from there. Once I balanced out the feta though it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Loved the flavor and it was so easy to make! Works well with bread sticks and cut veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States