Spicy Roasted Red Pepper and Feta Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is the best hummus ever---actually I have never liked traditional hummus before. This version is very healthy/low-fat with no olive oil. I often use a fresh roasted red pepper instead of those in a jar. I first grill the red pepper and blacken the skin (you can also do that under the broiler) then peel off all the blackened skin and remove seed then throw the pepper in the food processor with the rest of the ingredients. UPDATE - Made this even better...delete the parsley and the salt and add a large clove of garlic and about a dozen kalamata olives (pitted of course!) and about a tbsp. of the brine that the olives come in! EVEN MORE FABULOUS and a good way to get healthy red peppers, beans and olives all in one dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Wow! I love hummus and have eaten a lot of it...but this has to be one of the best that I have not only eaten, but made as well. And I must admit, it was my first attempt at making hummus. I decided to try three varieties and this would be my favorite. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebarbiedoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is the first hummus recipe that I have made myself...and I loved it! Very flavorful. Next time I would probably use a little less lemon juice than the recipe recommends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Very good...will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Loved the flavor and it was so easy to make! Works well with bread sticks and cut veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katie
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I made the recipe as is and it was delicious and so colorful! Just spicy enough for me. Depending on the event, I may reduce the cayenne a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Delicious and easy!!! I didn't have any cayenne so I substituted red pepper flakes instead also used low sodium beans to try and make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I did not even know what hummus was until my grown daughter let us try a store bought version. It was ok, grainy but ok. I recently bought a new blender and wanted to make my own version. I started with this recipe, I did not have tahini or a jar of roasted peppers, so I microwaved two small red peppers, added basil tomato feta, sun dried tomatoes, dried basil and hot sauce (instead of cayenne pepper). It was so creamy and delicious! My 5 yr old mowed it down, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDygert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cato, New York, USA
Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Fantastic! Based on reviews, I decreased the lemon juice to one tablespoon. It was a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but this definitely needed olive oil and tahini. Mine was way too thick & hot. I'll stick to buying my hummus from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States