Spicy Roasted Red Pepper and Feta Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
YUM! Made it just as written, except used dried parsley (I don't ever buy fresh because we don't like it) and added a clove of garlic. I also saved the bean juice, and ended up adding a few tablespoons to get the consistency I wanted. First time I made it, we were blown away! The second time, I forgot to add garlic... and we were sorely disappointed. It is not NEARLY as good without it... so make sure to add garlic and you will have a 10-star recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Very tasty; thank you for posting. The only tweaking was to add a tablespoon of tahini (from grounds sesame seeds), garlic to taste and to reduce the lemon to two tablespoons. The result, simply DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I was inspired by this recipe - made it w/ container of feta, can of beans, 1 jar of peppers, squeezed 1/2 lemon, handful of parsley and about 4 cloves of garlic. Put in the Cuisinart with some olive oil drizzled... took it to a party and they couldn't get enough. These were garlic loving people and this really turned out like a spruced up version of aioli. Fabulous! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I agree with a previous reviewer - way too thick, and we found it extremely bland. Added some garlic, olive oil and more salt to try to save the day but still very disappointed. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Made just the way the ingredients are listed, the feta flavor was really overwhelming. I had toa dd more roasted red peppers to balance it out and I think next time I will start with about half the feta and taste and add from there. Once I balanced out the feta though it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Yummy! This stuff was so good, I took my first bite and was like "This stuff is so good"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I would reduce the amount of feta cheese for my liking and watch the cayenne - overdoing it takes away from the taste of the hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but this definitely needed olive oil and tahini. Mine was way too thick & hot. I'll stick to buying my hummus from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Fantastic! Based on reviews, I decreased the lemon juice to one tablespoon. It was a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I did not even know what hummus was until my grown daughter let us try a store bought version. It was ok, grainy but ok. I recently bought a new blender and wanted to make my own version. I started with this recipe, I did not have tahini or a jar of roasted peppers, so I microwaved two small red peppers, added basil tomato feta, sun dried tomatoes, dried basil and hot sauce (instead of cayenne pepper). It was so creamy and delicious! My 5 yr old mowed it down, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDygert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cato, New York, USA
Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States