Spicy Roasted Red Pepper and Feta Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Not bad base...but I agree with some other ratings I read about this recipe. Needs olive oil, tahini, & a bit of fresh garlic . I only used 1 tbls. lemon. And I would keep the feta on the side to eat with the pita chips! I didn't even attempt to add the feta to the mix. I used a jar of roasted red pepers in olive oil and used the oil from the jar. These additions will give this recipe a smoother texture and a better red pepper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is really good! I was a little worried at first, but when I got it out the next day to snack on, the flavors had married nicely with just enough heat to make it really interesting! Yum! It was a hit with everyone who tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was a watery mess. The cooking time for the shrimp was way to long. The shrimp ended up taking like rubber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was very good with the following changes. I used only half the cayenne pepper, added some olive oil and garlic powder. I served this with some homemade pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Feta adds unnecessary amounts of sodium and fat. Hummus is usually a healthy dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr8fulfan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious and so simple to make! To decrease the amount of fat, I used reduced fat feta cheese and halved the amount. I also omitted the fresh parsley because I didn't have any. With all these changes it was still very tasty. Thanks Valerie, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Yum! I made it according to the recipe minus the parsley (didn't have any!) but this was so good. I never would have thought to make my own hummus but I will make my own from now on, it was so good! I got an immersable blender for Christmas which made making this so easy. Even my DH shared some with me, and he has texture issues and refuses anything with a bean texture but he really enjoyed this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I cut this hummus in half and roasted the rest of the can of chickpeas. I used 1/2 a fresh red bell pepper because thats what I had. I added a little water because I don't like my hummus thick. This was so good, I will never buy the red pepper hummus in stores again. That feta just makes it to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I was super surprised by this! Beautiful flavor combo with the perfect amount of heat. I added 1 clove of garlic, because I adore garlic. I also made mine in the blender and needed to add a little liquid to get it moving. I added 3 TBS of water and 2 TBS of olive oil. It was beautiful and smooth and made a very generous amount of hummus. Thanks for a fantastic 5 star recipe! I also tossed with hot pasta for a delicious entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I loved it! Maybe that's just because I love feta and roasted red peppers, but this was a wonderful, little surprise. I ate it on toast and my kids gobbled it up. Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States