Spicy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mrsmambo
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
To make them really spicy and a little more flavorful, I added chili powder, cayenne, paprika and a touch of cumin to the garlic powder and salt mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I make these every year from the pumpkin we carve as a family. They are delicious. My only change is I use enough veggie oil to coat the seeds and swirl them around in it. (In place of butter) I only wish our pumpkins yielded more seeds!! These go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Use half the butter or double everything else. Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this recipe yesterday. Too much butter. All the spices slid off the seeds along with the butter. The seeds themselves came out ok but very plain as none of the spices stayed on the seeds. I would recommend 1/2 the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I will cut back on the salt next time but these have a great flavor. Oh, definitely half the butter like the first person said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I only had about 2 cups of pumpkin seeds. I cut the butter to 2 tsp (I find that it only needs about 1 tsp per cup usually) and the seasoned salt to 1 1/2 tsp but kept the garlic powder the same. I did not add regular salt, I didn't think it was necessary. I checked at 45 min and they were done and did not need further cooking. We thought these were good, but not the best we have ever made. I might add more garlic powder next time (my husband is a big garlic fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My 16 yr. old daughter made these and added spicy cajun seasoning. They turned out good and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Guess I'm not a pumpkin seed fan. While the flavor was great, I do not like the way you have to chew and chew and chew to swallow these things. Someone else said (not sure if it was a review here or on another recipe) it reminded them of eating the shell of a sunflower seed. Exactly! However, if you LIKE pumpkin seeds this has excellent taste and flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Excellent flavor! They are the best when eaten right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polkadotto

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States