Spicy Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This recipe was great. As the recipe indicates it is spicy. Not for the faint of heart, but then again if you are a spice wimp, you probably aren't going to attempt a recipe called spicy rice to begin with :) Someone commented on the lack of flavor, I thought it had excellent flavor. I did add some minced garlic to the step where the onion and vegetables are sauteed, and also seasoned this step with salt and pepper. As for the seasoning of the meat, we used the recommended season salt for the chicken and added some pepper, but used garlic salt and pepper for the beef. The meat had excellent flavor and was very tender. My only "beef" with the recipe is that it seemed to take much longer to prepare than it states. It is a very easy recipe, not strenuous, but the step where the rice is supposed to brown alone in the pan seems to take longer than anticipated. The rice is/was slightly mushy as well. Not sure why that was. It still had excelled flavor, and that would not stop us from making the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This recipe was okay. The entire family ate it but no one was enthused about it. It is a good meal to feed around 7-12 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAIGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was great! I substituted by adding five jalapeno and some garlic and deleting the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is a wonderful dish and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I loved it! But everyone else said that it needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I liked this a lot- although I found it a bit spicy- my husband thought it was great. I couldn't find a habanero pepper so I substituted a jalapeno instead. I use my pampered chef food chopper so it didn't take long to prep for this recipe! I thought it was quick and easy. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAMPIN426

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This is a really great dish to make when you want something easy. The flavors blend together really well, and you find yourself going back for more and more and more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
My husband and I really liked this rice. We love spicy food and most things I have made off this website have not been spicy enough for us. I didn't add sirloin only chicken and halved the recipe, but I can't wait to make this as a side for Christmas Dinner. Thanks Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This was not so great. Too hot for me. Not a lot of flavor either. Be sure to wear gloves when you handle the habaneros. My fingers burned for three days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States