Spicy Rice Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I thought it was great! I did not have fish sauce so I added soy sauce. I didn't have fresh herbs so i added dried herbs and I decided not to add sesame oil because I want it to be healthier! Still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmen Pangelinan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Cilantro is a love-it or hate-it herb. I happen to HATE it. I left it out, and used siracha in place of the sambal. After they were softened, I used my kitchen shears to cut the noodles uop into smaller legnths. To up the veggies, I used half again as many carrots and about 1 cup of steamed edamame. Doubled the dressing and put it all in a "tupperware" bowl. Stuck it in the fridge and before I went to bed, I turned the bowl upside down to let the dressing run back through the noodles. I got n ice saturation of flavor that way and it was perfect to put in a smaller bowl to take for lunch the next day. I also had if for dinner the same evening with leftover ribeye thinly sliced on top. Nice make-ahead light supper for us. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Wowee, was I popular at the barbecue on Sunday! I made this great salad - it's sooooo easy and delicious! I made as is but for one thing: I substituted diced green peppers for the green onions as my Boo hates onions, but I put them on the side with some extra crushed peanuts so that people could add garnish to their own salads. This one is definitely a keeper. (BTW, Trader Joe's has pre-shredded carrots which makes it even EASIER!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. The dressing is lacking something, maybe more brown sugar,lime and ginger and a little oil? Also, the dressing just runs to the bottom of the bowl, the noodles didn't soak up the dressing even after having sat in the refrigerator overnight. (Another reviewer suggested some peanut butter in the dressing which is an excellent idea.) It is a difficult salad to plate and eat with the noodles being so long - I would break up the noodles a little before soaking them. I did serve this with grilled chicken but I used the recipe for Shoyu Chicken for the marinade for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I have loved this salad for years - thanks for the recipe. I find that tossing the noodles in the dressing them laying them out on a cookie sheet topped with the veggies makes mixing everything together well much easier. I also add a splash of toasted sesame oil to the soaking water - the noodles then don't stick together and drain off the water better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Hollingsworth
Living In: Lincolnville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
The grilled thighs with the marinade was the star of this dish. I actually thought I would love the noodles and my husband would tolerate them but my husband ate seconds and I liked it well enough. I did like the texture and the idea of it all but I didn't "love it". I do think my husband will ask for it in the future and I will definitely save the marinade recipe for the chicken because that was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
The only reason I gave this recipe even 2 stars is due to the sauce, which I tweaked a little even. Added some lemongrass, more sesame oil, and ginger. However, the noodles did not soften in the hot water, which is what I was leary about in the first place. I think rice noodles need to be in boiling water for a minute to soften correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Even my picky husband liked this, and I thought for sure he would not. I used Thai Sweet Chili sauce and since it was so sweet (and spicy) I left out the brown sugar, which was a good call. I added matchstick cut cucumber, and left out the mint. Hubby can't eat cilantro so I served it on the side along with extra crushed peanuts (don't skip the peanuts!!), the more the better. I grilled shrimp to top the salad which was a great variation. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a lovely recipe, used siracha and added a bit more sesame oil. Didn't have the Thai basil, but will use next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I didn't think it was that spicy, so I added more garlic, fish sauce, chili paste and brown sugar, plus a diced red bell pepper and extra cilantro and mint. Garnished with extra peanuts and bell pepper for a Christmas coffee hour. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States