Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
IF YOU WANT SPICY (SOUR) DILL PICKLES OMIT THE SUGAR ENTIRELY. If you want sweet bread and butter pickles then follow to a T. I wanted spicy & dilly pickles. For my first batch I followed the recipes exactly as written. Before putting into jars I tasted the liquid. Yikes!! I'm glad I did. It was like a dillish syrup. So I rinsed off all my cukes and started over, this time omitting the sugar completely. Two weeks later, I am eating a pickle. Definitely the spicy (& sour)type of dill I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was my first time making pickles. I only used 1/4 cup sugar and added some sliced onion to my pickles..I think I will only put an 1/8 cup of sugar it. Everyone enjoyed them and my Mother-in-law wants more. I don't put the extra dill in because it already had enough in it probably because I don't chop it up too much. It's a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very good recipe. And oh so simple!! I used canning salt and omitted the pepper. Also cut sugar in half. Have had many requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
really good and easy, better than anything I can buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Pollina Knipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Doesn't anyone think this recipe calls for an unusual lot of fresh dill? I just chopped up a large pkg of dill, and I got 1/4 cup after taking a few springs out for the jars. At this rate I need 5-6 pkgs to yield 1 1/2 cups, and they are $3 each. After buying the cukes, I figure my homemade pickles will be ~$2 each--each pickle, not each jar! Even if I sub dry for fresh, that would be 3/4 cup dried--several bottles. I looked at other recipes for dill pickles, and they don't call for anywhere near this much dill. I'm going to try this recipe but with far less dill. I'm rating 4 stars because I can't send this without giving it a rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
These were OK, too many strange flavors going on for me. I like regular spicy dills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
WOW! I have NEVER done pickles before and this was easy and wonderful! I like dill pickles and wanted to do it without the canning processes. I had too many cucumbers from my garden and a neighbors (both pickling and burpless) and I just mixed them all up (can't tell the difference) with some jars of spears and some of sliced. I doubled the brine per other reviews and omitted garlic and red pepper, halved the sugar and added celery seed and a few shakes of alum to the brine. I couldn't find fresh dill so just used jarred dill weed. After 3 days, I dug into one of the jars of the sliced and ended up eating the whole thing in 2 days. I will make these again and again and give them as gifts all summer long. I also liked that this fits our healthy lifestyle perfectly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
OMG!!! Absolutely perfect... I soaked my cuc's in an ice bath in the fridge for 24 hours, lightened up on the sugar, added fresh garden jalapenos and of course more garlic and fresh dill.. Could only wait 5 of the 7 days or should I say my family could only wait.. And they were absolutely delicious.. Can't believe I finally found a crunchy yummy recipe that my family likes, thank you so much....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Absolutely amazing. I will never ever ever eat store bought pickles again. I halved the amount of cucumbers and doubled the brine since it's just me and my husband. I also cut the sugar and added sliced white onions and fresh jalapenos. They turned out perfect! I'm already on my third batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Very good and easy! Crunchy and flavorful. Next time I will omit the sugar though. I cut the sugar in half and they we still a bit too sweet for me. Plus, be careful with the red pepper flakes- alittle goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States