Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
OMG! These are better than GREAT! And soooo easy. My hubby doesn't like spicy so I left out the pepper (I'll make another batch for me that has the pepper in it). I added more garlic (as I l like my pickles heavier on the garlic). Could hardly wait the 10 days but its worth it. I'm making my plans now for the taligate market to buy ALL the cukes I can find just to make MORE PICKLES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
These are great pickles. THis was my first attempt at making pickles from my home grown cucumbers and they were truly awesome, and better yet EASY!! I reduced the sugar by a lot, next time I think I may only use 1 tbls, I used 2 this time. I also mixed cider vinegar and white only because I didn't have enough cider vinegar. I would have liked a little more dill, but I didn't have enough in my garden. Also, I threw in a couple chopped banana peppers ( because I had them) and a teaspoon of Alum for crispness. Awesome Pickle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eruss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This are easy great tasting pickles. The first time I made them I had one after only 2 days mmm... so good. My husband who can care less about pickles had 3 of them.I did omit the sugar (did not have any on hand) and the were still great. Will have to make some more when my cukes are ready from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maude s.
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
LOVE this! So simple and easy I almost can't believe it. I had to make a few small changes to what I knew I would prefer though. I didn't have very much red pepper flake in the cabinet but I did have some dried red chilies so I used a total of 10 small chilies and all of the pepper flake that I had which was about a tsp. I didn't chop my garlic I just smashed it and threw it in and also halved the amount of sugar. These are so good they remind me of my favorite deli pickles! Update: I've also used this same recipe to pickle sweet peppers from our garden and good grief are they fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
These are nice pickles. I do like the flavor of the dill. I used about 1/2 the sugar and am glad I did; I love pickles, any kind of pickles, but I'm less partial to sweet pickles. I, to discovered that there really isn't enough liquid to cover the pickles as written, so I doubled the liquid but ran out of vinegar so had to use a little more water than called for. It still wasn't quite enough, but sufficient to try these out. I'm inclined to agree wtih a revieweer who suggested that the dill doesn't need chopped; I actually thought the small pieces got in the way when pulling pickles out of the jar, and would prefer bigger pieces so it is easier. All in all, though, bf and I really enjoyed these and we will probably try again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I just made these last night and I've already snatched 2 from a jar! They're perfectly tart with just a bit of a burn. Can't imagine how good they'll be in 10 days :o) After reading the other reviews, I opted to reduce the sugar to 2 T, up the salt to 2 T, and leave the dill whole and just cram several sprigs in each jar. For some reason I couldn't find dill seed at the store so had to leave it out, but hopefully the dill weed will impart enough flavor! I had to use regular cucumbers (cut into spears), but I'm sure pickling cucumbers are even better. Like some other reviewers, I had to make more of the brine to cover my cucumbers, but I think that has a lot to do with how densely you pack the cukes in the jar. I'll update this once the required 10 days have actually passed! I'm willing to bet there will only be a few pickles left by then though because they're so good already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I too reduced the amount of sugar way down to about a tablespoon since I didn't want sweet pickles. Cut my cukes in quarter spears. Could have used a tad more salt (probably to make up for the missing sugar?). Didn't bother to chop dill, just cut it off plant, washed, and tossed in whole. One other thing was I had soaked my whole pickling cukes in ice water for about three hours and then sliced before putting in jars. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Oh. My. Gosh. I am a self proclaimed pickle addict (I eat 1 or 2 a day) and these were some of the best that I have ever tried. I only gave four stars because I wasn't a fan of the sweetness. Next time I think I will reduce the sugar drastically or leave it out all together. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Very easy & very good. I had large cuces from the garden so I sliced them, using about 8 large ones. Dropped sugar down to 1 Tablespoon, used 4 teaspoons of canned minced garlic, and added a chopped fresh chile pepper to the brine. Put it all together & after 10 days they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Yum! I was so excited to try this recipe, & I was not disappointed! I'm a huge pickle lover, & these tasted really similar to one of my favorite kinds of pickles. The only change I will make next time is to probably eliminate the sugar completely. I only put in between 1-2 tablespoons, & I still wasn't a fan of the sweet taste. I guess I just like my pickles sour :). Overall, though, really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States