Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This recipe was ok. I am a first time pickle maker so I was very disappointed in my result. It was not spicy and very sweet. If you don't want a sweet pickle I'd cut it down to only a few table spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Yum!! I followed the advice of other reviewers and reduced the sugar, but to a tablespoon, and I increased the salt a little. I make a couple batches of this brine and filled a gallon jar and some smallers jars. I filled my jars with onions, garlic cloves, hot peppers, banana peppers, jalapeno peppers, green peppers slices, and hunks of three different varieties of cucumbers. I picked tiny cucumbers and big ones, and they all turned out great. They are just that good. I did add celery seed to the mix as well, I just like the added flavor. I bought some pickling spice for my next batch. Mmm! Mmm! Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
delicious! first attempt at making pickles and they turned out great! cut the sugar WAY back - 1 tsp. per batch of brine. I made 9 quarts - quadrupled the recipe and brine qty. came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Wow!!! These are really really good and I just made them. Had to try them after they soaked for a few hours and they are GOOD!!!! Can't wait for the full 10 days to see how they taste. I took some of the reviewer suggestions and cut the sugar way back, added sliced jalapenos and alot of garlic. I wasn't sure if you were supposed to leave the cucumbers whole or what to do so I made some cut into chips, spears and left a few whole. Will see which I like the best but I have a feeling it won't matter, they taste awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These were really very good. It made enough brine to fill 2 quart jars. I cut the cucumbers into spears rather than leaving whole, stuffed them into 2 jars then poured the brine over the top. Filled them up to the top. I let them sit a week in the refrigerator before we sampled. So nice and garlicky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Excellent! I did cut the sugar. I'm so pleased with the outcome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
So so so so good. I didn't have fresh dill weed but they tasted delicious with the dry stuff! I just added a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Fantastic! I used 1/2 of sugar. Taste great and so easy to make. I was able to save a lot of cucumbers from going bad. Thank you for the great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This recipe was far too sweet for my preference. Some of that may have been my own fault, because I used a little over a quarter cup of Splenda instead of a half cup of sugar to cut down on the calories. Although Splenda is as good as sugar in most recipes (and you use half as much), it may have been the reason these turned out so super sweet - I don't know. Regardless, next time I'll be trying them without the sugar added at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foursixquebec

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This makes an incredible pickle. The only thing I changed was only adding 1/4 c sugar. My son can't stop eating them and is begging me to make more. He says they start out a little sweet and then the dill/garlic taste kicks in... delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States