Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I was somewhat skeptical but my pickles came out beautifully. I'll make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
These are awesome and delicious pickles!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Wonderfu! You can even use this recipe for canning pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This was a quick and easy way to use up those extra cukes in our fridge! I halved the sugar because I like more of a tart and garlicky pickle--wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nirocz
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Easy to make pickles, everybody loves them. People cannot believe that they are homemade. One friend said that the only place that she thought that thy could come from was a gourmet market. I have made these twice and the amount of brine needed to fill the jars was not enough. I am not sure if it is because I make spears that might be the problem. I basicly tripled the amout of brine. Though I was filling twelve quart jars and one pint. I would suggest making more brine so that when it comes time to jar you do not run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iluvpickles
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
believe it or not...my first attempt at making dill pickles and I'M SOOOO HOOKED!!! we started 8 days ago and could just not wait another 2 days! crisp...cold...deelicious dill pickles. regionally (Hawaii) we mainly pickle cut up veggies and fruits like cabbage, onions, eggplant, mangoes, turnips and mustard cabbage so this was quite out of my norm. these pickles taste just almost exactly like claussen from the refrigerator section (at $5 a jar in Hawaii). i made these because i found a bag of small pickling cucumbers at a Korean market in town and i have never seen them at any other markets locally. there were 8 in the bag and so i adjusted the recipe for those 8 cuties and followed the recipe with the exception of the following. i used dried dill because i didn't have any fresh; my jar of pickling spice was so old the lid was stuck so i read the ingredients and improvised. i broke up some bay leaves, threw in some peppercorns, put a dash of cinnamon, a dash of colman's mustard powder (in place of the mustard seed); i didn't have any dill seed and didn't add any pepper flakes at my daughter's request. we packed those babies in a jar and the liquid just topped them...perfection! i'm planning to start growing my own pickling cucumbers! can't thank you enough FAIRYFAHRENHOLZ for sharing your wonderful recipe!!! tell your husband these pickles are the "crack" pickles! **-*-**mahalo from Hawaii**-*-**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
You have ruined store bought pickles for us. These were easy and great. I halved the sugar as suggested by other reviewers and I boiled the 2 cups of water so it disolved the sugar and salt and I didn't wait. We used fresh hot red peppers from our garden instead of the flakes. Just wonderful. We couldn't wait for 10 days and ate them after 2 - it had the crunch of half soursThanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
WONDERFUL!! Crisp, spicy, with a sweet/sour balanced flavor. Excellent recipe that I plan to use over and over. I do recommend making a little more of the brine since I ran a little low at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was my first attempt at making pickles and I was surprised at how easy it was. I have to admit, I snuck a pickle after only one day, and they definitely get better if you can wait it out a few days. I used 1 T of red pepper, and the flavor was perfectly spicy and garlicky. Yum! The only thing I'd change next time is skip chopping the dill because it got messy and I think you'd still get the same flavor with whole sprigs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe was SO simple- I easily tripled the brine so I wouldn't run out. Plus, I added red onion, red bell pepper and to a few: some little green and orange peppers, so the extra brine was necessary. I'm making these as Christmas gifts and they look absolutely festive and delicious! I may make these a Christmas tradition! They not only taste good, but they look like a decoration with the dill and garlic bits floating about. Very simple recipe for any experience level- but you will look like a pro when your friends and family see the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States