Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Used this recipe for my first attempt at making pickles and they turned out great! I've got a second batch in the fridge and its going to be a long 10 day wait. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sobotta
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
My son declared these the best pickle he has ever tasted! I reduced the sugar as I wanted a sour pickle. I could eat the entire jar myself, by then I would indeed have terrible garlic breath! I added a bit of zucchini as I had extra, and they stayed crunchy and delicious too. This is an easy recipe with impressive results. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobotta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was my first time attempting to ever make pickles. Very easy and delicious! I made mine into chips, added sliced onion and made a double batch. 1/2 with the peppers, the other half without for the kids. I couldn't wait the full ten days, so one pint jar is already gone. With be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made these a couple of weeks ago and they were fantastic. I added more crushed red peppers because my family loves spicy foods. Will be making another batch soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
These are easy to make and they are a great picnic pot luck offering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I LOVE pickles. These are really good with just a few adjustments. My family likes spicey, so I add jalapenos to the jars. These are also a little too sweet for me, so I reduce the sugar by over half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessgertie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
These were pretty good, pretty easy. Hubby loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I make jars and jars of these when my garden is producing lots of cukes. Everyone likes them and when a jar is opened, they disappear fast. i do use 1/2 the sugar. I have made them in spears and in large slices. We only have two jars left in the fridge now in November. They will be gone soon. I have even saved the juice and added more cukes to it, but only do this once and eat them as soon as the 10 days is up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I absolutely love pickles and am very particular about them...they must have FLAVOR like you just got it out of the full sour pickle barrel at the deli, not like some of those storebought that taste like cold cucumbers that ran past the pickle brine. I also never made pickles before, bought the cucumbers and then had to rush out of town for a funeral. I knew the cukes would be rotten by the time I got back so I mixed the brine and put the pickles in exactly as directed while I packed. LEt them sit as instructed and popped them in old mayonaise jars and popped them in the frig. I cut the cucumbers in quarters lengthwise and followed instructions EXACTLY...except I had no fresh dill so I used dried. (I looked in a substitution book which said to use 1 tsp dry in place of 1 Tbsp fresh, which is 1/3 the amount..so I used 1/2 cup in place of 1.5 cup) My dill was a bit old, so I dumped in more than it said...maybe 3/4 cup. I am making it again today, as all my friends want to try some and I wanted to test it on myself before poisoning anyone else! I am going to try fresh dill. Also, I cut sugar all the time when I bake, but was afraid to in this recipe as I didn't know what the chemical interaction was with the ingredients. They were NOT AT ALL sweet...and I can eat a lemon or lime raw. When I get these down I will try canning with a water bath, but this is so simple I wish I had tried it decades ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States