Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Yummy easy recipe! Their great without the red pepper flakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
A friend at work bought me in some spicy pickles he got at Whole Foods. I was wanting to duplicate them and found this recipe. I had to use one big pickle jar I had hanging around instead of the three small ones so I had to double the brine to fill it up. I just love the way these came out! They don't taste like the Whole Foods pickles, but they are great on their own. Next time I'm going to reduce the vinegar and increase the sweetner (I used Splenda instead of sugar) and the red pepper flakes which I think will be closer to the pickles my friend brought in. I want to surprise him with some less expensive homemade pickles, but truly I am very pleased with these. Thank you so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
turned out very good. Next time, don't add the peppers. It isn't too spicy, but the pickier people might not appreciate them. I doubled the brine and it was barely enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
It's only been 2 days and I couldn't help it, had to try them, and they taste fantastic already!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Must LOVE vinegar ... I LOVE dill pickles but I do not love an extreme vinegar taste. These have a very strong vinegar taste. My friend LOVES vinegar and she likes this recipe. Guess my point is if your a big vinegar fan I would recommend this recipe but if not I would skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Loved this recipe!!! These were so fun to make, and were super delicious!!!! The only thing I need to change is the quantity! Next time I'll make way more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I love these!!!I didn't have fresh dill, used dry. Also, not necessary to presoak the cucumbers in the brine. I just prepped my jars, added cucumber spears, threw in some whole peppercorns into each jar (about 1 tsp. per jar.) Added 1 tsp. chopped garlic to each jar, 1 tsp. red pepper flakes to each jar. Then pour vinegar,salt and sugar solution into each jar. The other reviewers are correct, cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup or they are too much like bread and butter pickles....I wanted mine to be more like claussen and they were! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Good taste, but they didn't stay crispy after the full 10 days - I actually liked them better when I sampled one on day 5. I would also tie up the spices in a cheesecloth or coffee filter next time to keep them from floating around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I love these pickles! Did cut the sugar amount in half though, and they still have an initial sweet tang at first bite. So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Too sweet (even though I only put in 1/2 the sugar from the recipe) and too much vinegar. Not enough salt for my palette. Good base though - just needed less vinegar and more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States