Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Pretty easy to make and tasty. I would add slightly more garlic and a little more water to the mix. They were a little heavy on the vinegar for my taste. They lasted a long time as well and were better after the first time that we had them. Not bad for my first time making pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Excellent! I was looking for a recipe just like this. Great to have in the frig for summer picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
These were great! Used sliced peppers from the garden instead of pepper flakes. Will definitely keep this as one of my go-to recipes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Not a big fan of this recipe, I'll try others. Firstly, as others suggested I cut the sugar to about 1 oz per batch (I don't like sweet pickles either). I also didn't add as much dill, I felt it would be too much. A handful of days later I tasted one and I found it to have too strong of a vinegar taste. I added more water to the jars hoping to cut the vinegar taste. We'll see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
We liked these but they were too sweet for us. I will omit the sugar entirely next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I halved the sugar, as I didn't want sweet pickles. The flavor was okay, but I really didn't like the amount of chopped fresh dill. I almost felt like I had to rinse the pickles off before eating them or else I'd end up with too much soggy dill. If I make this again, I'll double the dill seed and just use the sprig per jar of fresh. All in all these were good, but just not quite the pickle I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
These pickles turned out very good. I substituted ground red pepper for the pepper flakes (because I was too lazy to go to the store). I did add some alum as was suggested by someone else. Nice and crunchy. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
like bread and butter pickles, only spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This recipe was great. Loved it. Cann as recommended & you will not be disappointed. I am finishing my jar off right now. I made these and a batch of canned ones that I can use in the future as well. I know this sounds bad but I love drinking the pickle juice. I don't know if you have ever tried it, but it works with me as an appitite suppressant. Maybe the next 'diet' recommendation?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States