Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
We liked these but they were too sweet for us. I will omit the sugar entirely next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I halved the sugar, as I didn't want sweet pickles. The flavor was okay, but I really didn't like the amount of chopped fresh dill. I almost felt like I had to rinse the pickles off before eating them or else I'd end up with too much soggy dill. If I make this again, I'll double the dill seed and just use the sprig per jar of fresh. All in all these were good, but just not quite the pickle I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
These pickles turned out very good. I substituted ground red pepper for the pepper flakes (because I was too lazy to go to the store). I did add some alum as was suggested by someone else. Nice and crunchy. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
like bread and butter pickles, only spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This recipe was great. Loved it. Cann as recommended & you will not be disappointed. I am finishing my jar off right now. I made these and a batch of canned ones that I can use in the future as well. I know this sounds bad but I love drinking the pickle juice. I don't know if you have ever tried it, but it works with me as an appitite suppressant. Maybe the next 'diet' recommendation?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
IF YOU WANT SPICY (SOUR) DILL PICKLES OMIT THE SUGAR ENTIRELY. If you want sweet bread and butter pickles then follow to a T. I wanted spicy & dilly pickles. For my first batch I followed the recipes exactly as written. Before putting into jars I tasted the liquid. Yikes!! I'm glad I did. It was like a dillish syrup. So I rinsed off all my cukes and started over, this time omitting the sugar completely. Two weeks later, I am eating a pickle. Definitely the spicy (& sour)type of dill I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was my first time making pickles. I only used 1/4 cup sugar and added some sliced onion to my pickles..I think I will only put an 1/8 cup of sugar it. Everyone enjoyed them and my Mother-in-law wants more. I don't put the extra dill in because it already had enough in it probably because I don't chop it up too much. It's a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very good recipe. And oh so simple!! I used canning salt and omitted the pepper. Also cut sugar in half. Have had many requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
really good and easy, better than anything I can buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LydiaMomof Three

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Pickled Grilled Pickles

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States