Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
These were pretty good, pretty easy. Hubby loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I make jars and jars of these when my garden is producing lots of cukes. Everyone likes them and when a jar is opened, they disappear fast. i do use 1/2 the sugar. I have made them in spears and in large slices. We only have two jars left in the fridge now in November. They will be gone soon. I have even saved the juice and added more cukes to it, but only do this once and eat them as soon as the 10 days is up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I absolutely love pickles and am very particular about them...they must have FLAVOR like you just got it out of the full sour pickle barrel at the deli, not like some of those storebought that taste like cold cucumbers that ran past the pickle brine. I also never made pickles before, bought the cucumbers and then had to rush out of town for a funeral. I knew the cukes would be rotten by the time I got back so I mixed the brine and put the pickles in exactly as directed while I packed. LEt them sit as instructed and popped them in old mayonaise jars and popped them in the frig. I cut the cucumbers in quarters lengthwise and followed instructions EXACTLY...except I had no fresh dill so I used dried. (I looked in a substitution book which said to use 1 tsp dry in place of 1 Tbsp fresh, which is 1/3 the amount..so I used 1/2 cup in place of 1.5 cup) My dill was a bit old, so I dumped in more than it said...maybe 3/4 cup. I am making it again today, as all my friends want to try some and I wanted to test it on myself before poisoning anyone else! I am going to try fresh dill. Also, I cut sugar all the time when I bake, but was afraid to in this recipe as I didn't know what the chemical interaction was with the ingredients. They were NOT AT ALL sweet...and I can eat a lemon or lime raw. When I get these down I will try canning with a water bath, but this is so simple I wish I had tried it decades ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Awesome! Super easy and extra delish! We had fresh hot peppers and used those instead of pepper flakes! We've made them a few times, the second time we made them we cut the sugar, they weren't as good! We're sticking to the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Klaudia Pintea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made these for my boyfriend and he loved them! I made enough for 3 Mason jars. We tried to make one "extra spicy" with more jalapeños in the jar, but it didn't really seem to make a difference in the end. Good spice with a nice mix of sweetness. We wound up using about 1/2 the number of cucumbers called for but the same amount of brine as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Seriously amazing! I made two jars of these pickles earlier this week. I cut back on the sugar a bit, and also added some whole garlic cloves to the jar. After 3 days the flavor was fantastic and I ate half a jar. :) I refilled the jar with new cucumbers and i'm waiting to see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
these were just ok, for me. I don't really care for the vinegar taste. and the dill weed is kinda messy. I think you could just use dill seed, and get a better dill taste. but I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Think this is my favorite. Every year I forget to save my favorite recipes and every year I do something different. I won't forget this year. Perfect balance of flavors with just a hint of heat at the end. We all loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I took some of the reviewers advice and cut the sugar back to 1 Tablespoon per batch of brine. Big mistake. The pickles are so sour and vinegary that we cannot eat them. I am opening the lids now and dumping sugar into each jar in the hope that I can save them. As they are now I have to throw them out. My advice is to follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadybugBates

Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States