Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
these were just ok, for me. I don't really care for the vinegar taste. and the dill weed is kinda messy. I think you could just use dill seed, and get a better dill taste. but I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Think this is my favorite. Every year I forget to save my favorite recipes and every year I do something different. I won't forget this year. Perfect balance of flavors with just a hint of heat at the end. We all loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I took some of the reviewers advice and cut the sugar back to 1 Tablespoon per batch of brine. Big mistake. The pickles are so sour and vinegary that we cannot eat them. I am opening the lids now and dumping sugar into each jar in the hope that I can save them. As they are now I have to throw them out. My advice is to follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadybugBates
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I love this recipe and so do my family and friends. It says to eat the pickles in a month but I've found they stay good for months. I always add more garlic and peppers but I like really spicy pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My husband has yet to taste anything too hot, so I quadrupled the crushed red pepper flakes and seeded and quartered two jalapeno peppers for each jar and omitted the sugar. I cut the cucumbers in quarters and we waited a week to try them. They stay so nice and crunchy. I'll keep a few jars in the fridge year 'round as long as the cukes are available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
These are the best fridge pickles I have ever made. Just spicy enough with a touch of sweet at the end. I think using fresh, good garlic is key. I followed this recipe exactly and could not be happier with the result. All of my family and friends are asking for these pickles now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made a batch of these, but since we don't like sweet pickles, I just left out the sugar entirely. I also used fresh jalapeno peppers sliced up in place of the red pepper flakes (a friend gave me a bunch from her garden and I didn't know what to do with them). My husband LOVED them! I thought they were pretty good, but the pickling spice was even a bit too sweet for my taste. I prefer more of a tangy, garlicky pickle and the pickling spice has too much of a cinnamon flavor. I'm masking another batch with more garlic and no pickling spice. We'll see how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squigglejay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I just made these yesterday...I couldn't wait the week to try them so I just did. OMG!! They are perfect! This is a recipe that I will use every year from now on! I used half the sugar called for and doubled the brine as some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
These are very simple and taste great! I add a tablespoon of mustard for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I am in the middle of making these pickles do you strain the spices out when you put it in jars or leave them in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States