Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Just tried these pickles & they are great!!! My husband & friends love them too. I didn't have any pickling spice so I just omitted it and they turned out great. Can't get over how crispy they are, they are addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firefly56

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Russell, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These were delicious! I was lucky enough to find pickling spices at the market one day, so I went right home and made them. 15 jars later, we are in pickle heaven! I followed the recipe pretty much until I got to the red pepper. I only used a couple of pinches of it, since I didn't want my pickles too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keisha Millich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Turned out really good & easy to make. They tasted the best to me after the 15 days of refrigeration. I have already made another batch by popular demand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Love these! My family can't get enough of these. I cut the sugar to 1 T. (we don't like sweet pickles), just added a pinch of red pepper flakes and I doubled the brine. Since they are eaten so fast after the 10 day waiting period, I just put fresh cucumbers back in the brine and they still taste as good as the first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very good pickle recipe. Was hesitant to try a dill pickle with sugar in the brine, but was very happy at the outcome. Pickles were crisp, flavourful, and delicious. Will be making this one again when the cucumbers are ready in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peninnah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
i used this recipe to make pickles for my very first time...i omitted the sugar and added extra garlic and pepper flakes...they we're fabulous! thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This recipe was ok. I am a first time pickle maker so I was very disappointed in my result. It was not spicy and very sweet. If you don't want a sweet pickle I'd cut it down to only a few table spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Yum!! I followed the advice of other reviewers and reduced the sugar, but to a tablespoon, and I increased the salt a little. I make a couple batches of this brine and filled a gallon jar and some smallers jars. I filled my jars with onions, garlic cloves, hot peppers, banana peppers, jalapeno peppers, green peppers slices, and hunks of three different varieties of cucumbers. I picked tiny cucumbers and big ones, and they all turned out great. They are just that good. I did add celery seed to the mix as well, I just like the added flavor. I bought some pickling spice for my next batch. Mmm! Mmm! Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
delicious! first attempt at making pickles and they turned out great! cut the sugar WAY back - 1 tsp. per batch of brine. I made 9 quarts - quadrupled the recipe and brine qty. came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Wow!!! These are really really good and I just made them. Had to try them after they soaked for a few hours and they are GOOD!!!! Can't wait for the full 10 days to see how they taste. I took some of the reviewer suggestions and cut the sugar way back, added sliced jalapenos and alot of garlic. I wasn't sure if you were supposed to leave the cucumbers whole or what to do so I made some cut into chips, spears and left a few whole. Will see which I like the best but I have a feeling it won't matter, they taste awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States