Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Love these! My family can't get enough of these. I cut the sugar to 1 T. (we don't like sweet pickles), just added a pinch of red pepper flakes and I doubled the brine. Since they are eaten so fast after the 10 day waiting period, I just put fresh cucumbers back in the brine and they still taste as good as the first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very good pickle recipe. Was hesitant to try a dill pickle with sugar in the brine, but was very happy at the outcome. Pickles were crisp, flavourful, and delicious. Will be making this one again when the cucumbers are ready in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peninnah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
i used this recipe to make pickles for my very first time...i omitted the sugar and added extra garlic and pepper flakes...they we're fabulous! thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This recipe was ok. I am a first time pickle maker so I was very disappointed in my result. It was not spicy and very sweet. If you don't want a sweet pickle I'd cut it down to only a few table spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Yum!! I followed the advice of other reviewers and reduced the sugar, but to a tablespoon, and I increased the salt a little. I make a couple batches of this brine and filled a gallon jar and some smallers jars. I filled my jars with onions, garlic cloves, hot peppers, banana peppers, jalapeno peppers, green peppers slices, and hunks of three different varieties of cucumbers. I picked tiny cucumbers and big ones, and they all turned out great. They are just that good. I did add celery seed to the mix as well, I just like the added flavor. I bought some pickling spice for my next batch. Mmm! Mmm! Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
delicious! first attempt at making pickles and they turned out great! cut the sugar WAY back - 1 tsp. per batch of brine. I made 9 quarts - quadrupled the recipe and brine qty. came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Wow!!! These are really really good and I just made them. Had to try them after they soaked for a few hours and they are GOOD!!!! Can't wait for the full 10 days to see how they taste. I took some of the reviewer suggestions and cut the sugar way back, added sliced jalapenos and alot of garlic. I wasn't sure if you were supposed to leave the cucumbers whole or what to do so I made some cut into chips, spears and left a few whole. Will see which I like the best but I have a feeling it won't matter, they taste awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These were really very good. It made enough brine to fill 2 quart jars. I cut the cucumbers into spears rather than leaving whole, stuffed them into 2 jars then poured the brine over the top. Filled them up to the top. I let them sit a week in the refrigerator before we sampled. So nice and garlicky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Excellent! I did cut the sugar. I'm so pleased with the outcome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
So so so so good. I didn't have fresh dill weed but they tasted delicious with the dry stuff! I just added a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Pickled Grilled Pickles

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States