Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
The pickles are really good. Crunchy and garlicky. I'm buying more pickles to make more. I will add less sugar. Thanks!!!!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
Awesome pickle recipe, and way easy to make. I cut back on the sugar by half after reading others comments, used about a teaspoon of celery seed, and used Hawaiian black salt (those last two solely because of what I had one hand). These came out fantastic! I love spicy foods, and this had just a touch of it. Soooo good. Following this recipe (nearly) to a tee produced just two pint jars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orlando Velazco
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
everyone in my household is in love with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I'd been searching for a great dill pickle recipe for a while and this is definitely one I'll be making again. Very addictive. I did make a few modifications: - I used a few slices of fresh jalapeno in each quart jar instead of red pepper flakes, and halved the sugar. This gave it a great balance of sweet and spicy. - I mixed the water, vinegar, salt and sugar in a saucepan over heat to dissolve everything (heat just long enough to dissolve, don't boil), added the rest of the ingredients directly to each quart jar, then poured the liquid over everything. - My grocery store was out of fresh dill, so I used a tsp. dried dill in each quart jar instead. I'm sure it's better with fresh, but it still tasted good this way. - After filling the jars, I sealed them up and sterilized them for pantry storage, and they still ended up nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Matching the recipe exactly...but was horribly short on dill juice?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Kunath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Although, I didn't care for these as written, I've given the recipe 5 stars, because this is an excellent SWEET PICKLE RECIPE. I just don't like sweet pickles. Not having made pickles before, I wasn't sure if the sugar was necessary. I reduced the sugar to 1 tablespoon knowing I wouldn't like them otherwise. They were still too sweet for me, but Hubby loved them. I didn't have fresh dill, so I used dried, but it was a real pain to have hundreds of tiny dill pieces sticking to the pickles as I pulled them from the jar. Fresh dill is on the list for next time. I won't chop it. There will be a next time without any sugar. Thank you, FAIRYFAHRENHOLZ, for a great recipe to get me started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Chelpka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I couldn't even wait a day to try these pickles. For my taste, dill pickles are too sour and bread and butter pickles are too sweet. These pickles are the perfect combination of both. I used the full amount of sugar called for and as much dill as I had which was about two tablespoons fresh chopped and two tablespoons dried. I also added about a tablespoon of dried habanero and cayenne flakes for a little kick. I had small pickling cucumbers so I cut them in half and divided them among two quart size jars and put four crushed garlic cloves in each. I then filled both jars with the pickling brine. Even after one day in the fridge they were outstanding! I'm through with store bought pickles. These pickles are easy to make and easy to adjust to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
We love these. I may have gotten a little off on measurements but put the same stuff in there and same method. However much cayenne flakes I added in made them super spicy but delicious! These pickles get nice n pickled after the ten days and have a great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made these with the listed amount of sugar and I made them with less sugar. I preferred them with less sugar. I added more spice and some jalapeno slices. This is a great recipe with a few of my own tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States