Spicy Red Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe is awesome. I make it all the time. One addition... I melt feta cheese into the sauce and then serve the dish over steamed brown rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
My husband and I really loved this dish. Most of all it wasn't just another boring fish recipe. We like food with a little "zing" and this definitely filled the bill. You can't ruin this recipe if you follow it as written. Just make sure you use a pan that's not too large so all the juices and sauce stay close to the fish while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
We are always trying to find a new and delicious way to eat more fish. This recipe is delicious. I thought it would be to spicy for my family but they said it was perfect. I could not find red snapper so substituted tilapia. I made not other changes other than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
I used Italian flavored stewed tomatoes for extra flavor and reduced the amount of red pepper by half but it was still pretty spicy. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Easy, delicious, didn't need to shop for ingredients, one pan clean-up. Everything I look for in a good weekday dinner. We've used this with other fish and it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I just made this dish tonight. I had to use flounder instead of snapper because the store was out of snapper. However, it was fantastic with flounder! I can't imagine it being any better with snapper, but I'm looking forward to trying it. I followed the recipe exactly (except for the flounder substitution) and it was spicy but not too spicy. Very easy to prepare and not too time consuming. It reminds me of an Italian dish without all the carbs of a typical Italian pasta dish. This will become a weekly meal at my house. Thank you for the fantastic recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betsyjane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This was delicious! Based on other comments saying it was too spicy, I reduced the red pepper flakes by 1/4. It was just right. I also added a spoonful of commerical spaghetti sauce to help thicken the sauce. I will definitely make again. I'm planning to make it for a dinner party for five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This recipe was great!!!! We loved it!!! We actually used fresh caught salmon grouper, and I made the stewed tomatoes from scratch. I added way more red pepper and some cayanne and oregano as well. I made tri-colored spiral noodles; after drained I added some olive oil a tad of italian dressing and some chili oil to spice it up. I put the fish atop the noodles and it paired together great. Also I used red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I'd never made snapper before so I was a bit nervous- but glad I tried this! Really delicious...I didn't change a thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
We loved this recipe. It wasn't too spicy, it was just right. I served it with broccoli, pasta and a salad for a nice light dinner. The fish had a wonderful texture. I think I will follow another reviewer's advice and add a bit of tomato paste to thicken the sauce or perhaps just omit the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States