Spicy Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I loved this soup, I'm not a great fan of roasted peppers so this bell pepper soup I'll make again and again. Very easy recipe to follow and got the perfect blended spicy taste in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is lacking something, it's called flavor! I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Love this soup! Hearty with a kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
AMAZING! The only thing I altered was adding a little more spice! We like the extra bite :) Thanks for a great recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I feel my 3 star rating is very generous because of everything i kept having to do in order to make it taste right to me.. i cut the recipe in half.. i already knew i wasn't a big fan of thyme so i used basil instead.. and no i don't think it would have came out tasting 5 stars if i actually had used the thyme.. instead of all the cayenne pepper, crushed red pepper flakes, and black pepper i just used one serrano pepper.. i added about 1/2 lb of chicken breast that i sauteed in a pan with some season salt.. i should have stopped there.. but ended up adding in 1/4 c of yogurt.. it still tastes pretty decent.. but i think it tasted better before the yogurt.. can't say i didn't try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have made this several times now. Full disclosure: I have altered the recipe based on a review that felt it lacked something; it was good, but flat. Looking at the ingredients, I felt it probably needed a little sour/acid what with all the sweet going on, so I added a lemon slice with the broth (removing it prior to blending!) and reasoned that if the peppers were fresh, why not add a fresh hot pepper, serrano, instead of the cayenne and red pepper flakes. Additionally, because I didn't have any fresh or dried thyme, I added some mint. I am really liking this soup, you should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
i have to say, i followed this recipe pretty closely. i did not have fresh thyme, so just added dried. i used the indian chili powder i have on hand instead of the red pepper flakes. this came out very, very good. full bodied due to the rice (used brown), and nice and spicy. served with some crumbled feta. other reviewers have stated there is something missing, i too have had that problem. i simmered this all for a good 45 mins or more after sweating the veggies. maybe that helped? or it could be the peppers themselves. cooking is one big experiment, that's why it is so fun! either way, enjoy! and thanks for the post QUIRKYIQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
fantastic! Added an avocado to make it creamier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was pretty good. I love the flavor of the peppers and the hint of spice, but it was missing something. The consistency was perfect- very creamy. I recommend topping with crusty, garlic croutons or serving with a warm roll for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Maybe leave the carrot out? I'm not sure what the taste is that I'm not a huge fan of. Just tastes too much like vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwin Glenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States